WinMerge Icon

Windows visual diff and merge for files and directories

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
159
2
1
0
11
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, have you got any email to report you translation typos of your main site page, because this site accepts only bugs caused at the very program with configuration?

    Posted 02/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded to compare .iso files. On first use, it didn't do what I needed, ergo down vote. It may be great for smaller files, but the 2GB limit sucks, and it's therefore unusable for my purposes.

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wanted to compare some large files (~4 GB) but received a message stating that the limit was 2 GB.

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program appeared to be just what I needed and it might be if I could install it. I've tried 4 or 5 times now and each time when it's mid-way extracting files, that's it. It just stops. I can't click on the window and move it, minimize it, close it, cancel it. The progress bar still does its cutesy thing but I have to go to the task manager to stop it. And now I've got useless junk stuck somewhere in my computer and I can't get rid of it. I can't even find how to report this issue as a bug. What a pain!!! From what I can see most people have been able to use it so I don't know what the problem is trying to install it on my system. I've never had a problem like this before. I have a 64-bit AMD processor and I'm running Windoze 7.

    Posted 04/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice program to compare folders, I recommend it!

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WinMerge something simple, I would say

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reasons for down vote: 1) This simple comparison tool lacks "resync at given line" feature since first request in 2004 (#366 Manual synchronization anchors). Multiple similar requests are already open(#831 Allow manual line alignment, #719 Manual difference alignment, #1149 forced (manual) match or sync, ...). TotalCommander's internal compare has this feature for years. 2) Latest stable release is outdated since 2010 but 297 Bugs, 499 Change Requests and 20 items (oldest from 2005) in ToDo List are open.

    Posted 01/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found WinMerge slow. Running from Server 2008R2, trying to compare a local 60GB tree with the same tree on a server 2003 on the network.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found WinMerge slow. Running from Server 2008R2, trying to compare a local 60GB tree with the same tree on a server 2003 on the network. Been running an hour; only about 1/3 of the way through. Robocopy compared them in 5 minutes.

    Posted 05/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing tool. Found it very useful and very helpful.

    Posted 04/09/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This programis miserably counterintuitive. And on top of that, it will not function as described in the Help File. It will only allow me to browse to a folder if and only if the folder resides in another folder, and NO OTHER FILES are in there with it. If there are any files along with the folder I am trying to select, it just opens that folder and tries to force me to select a sub-file instead. I could not get it to show that there were 2 completely different files in the two folders I was comparing. It showed nothing at all, when I knew for sure one folder had a file the other folder lacked. It did not matter how I adjusted all the settings to show the differences, etc. This program is worthless to me, so I will have to find something else.

    Posted 11/22/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks