Win32 Disk Imager Icon

A Windows tool for writing images to USB sticks or SD/CF cards

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
56
9
7
1
18
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good tool! What I learned: - The tool does not keep Windows awake, so you need to turn off automatic Standby. (@developer: use SetThreadExecutionState...) - Do not use a microSD<->normalSD adapter when writing a (Raspberry Pi) image to the microSD. Use a USB adapter or card reader.

    Posted 05/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good for who is needing partition image on Windows.

    Posted 04/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software

    Posted 04/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 03/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Feature request. Ability to remember last folder used. It Assumes I want to pull from the downloads folder and it would be nice if it would use the same folder I select next time.

    Posted 02/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this Program to install Kali Linux from a USB-Stick. I thought it would work like YUMI (It would only add the input of the Kali.iso), but it has formatted my hole drive. I know how to work with a Computer, but a little warning Screen wouldn't be bad!!!

    Posted 09/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Would be nice to have it set the partition disk to the size of the img file. A+ though.

    Posted 09/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful program. Some of the earlier comments are trolling. I used it for cloning SD cards. Raspberry pi was working perfectly every time. Raspi B Rev 2, and Raspi II. There is no reason for anyone to do mistakes and blame it on W32DI

    Posted 09/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    do NOT use this software! it is able to destroy hardware irretrievable. for more information: bugs.launchpad.net/win32-image-writer/+bug/1086520

    Posted 08/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very simple and useful tool! Use it a lot to write the images to my Raspberry Pis, works fine every time!

    Posted 08/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dreadful piece of software. First attempt to write to an SD card failed at 74% complete. Failed to write to the selected SD card. Instead the program wrote to a USB storage device which was not selected and completely overwrote it.

    Posted 08/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely useful for flashing Linux images and making backups. I would really love to see it allow the use of internal/built in card readers. The addition of icons to the read write buttons could not only make the UI more attractive but make it more straightforward for those who use it less frequently. It's clear which to use, read vs write, but adding icons may make it seem more intuitive.

    Posted 07/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ***ht#p://emacstragic.net/how-to-make-a-bootable-usb-stick-in-windows-7-of-a-debian-iso/*** - that man tried ISO too. And it works. So maybe type that inf about iso - for stop misunderstanding? also writed to Debian support, maybe you need too cooperate guys?

    Posted 06/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Selecting .iso files not intuitive. Messages before burn about making the USB device are scary. Decided not to use because I like mys USB devices to last for a little while at least

    Posted 06/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    super tool :)

    Posted 05/30/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program! Works perfectly to create bootable linux USBs. Unfortunately, the Image File open function looks for .img files by default. Maybe you should add .iso to that list.

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, didn't work initially, but then used an USB SD card holder and it worked fine! :-) Would suggest a help pop-up suggesting this. Using a built in reader initially on an Acer Aspire S7-392 Ultrabook Thanks, Rob.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On a Macbook Air with Windows 7 pro, it always gets up to a percent (I think around 70%) then it stops, tried man times, it doesn't fail immediately, so that you time is always wasted. On a Lenovo Thinkpad the backup was created properly, I am not sure how reliable the restore is.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked perfectly on windows 8.1 as admin. THANKS FOR SHARING.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had to install as administrator on Windows 7, then I had to run as administrator or I received the same error as sihahamba. It is not the programs fault. Just need to run it correctly. Appreciate the program and will be using it to write images for the new Raspberry Pi 2. I haven't checked yet, but once the image is written and you start up the OS , you may be able to use a filesystem tool to expand the drive out to use the maximum space on the SD card.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant, thanks! Install as Administrator, outside program folder.

    Posted 02/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This does not even get to the stage of opening, never mind looking at my SD card. I apparently goes all the way through the installation program installing all the files but when I click finish it gives me the window: 'Unable to execute file c:\Program Files (x86)\ImageWriter\Win32DiskImager.exe Create process failed; code 710. The requested operation requires elevation.' No directory is created in the Program Files folder (tried both Program Files folder : x86 and non-x86) What alternative is there to this program that doesn't work! The above was all done on Windows 8.1. I moved to Windows xp and it all worked. Once again it is Windows - a computer that loses its midi capability at random with no reason and no way of adjusting it, that has no exit button on its 'tiles', no jack plug input for recording - where do I stop - grinds to a halt while it checks for non-existent network connections - how can you make something so much worse from something mediocre at best.

    Posted 02/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think it changes the size of the SD card to the size of whatever you write to it, so if you put a 750 mb iso onto an 8 gb flashdrive, it reduces the size of the flashdrive to 750 mb. I found a way to reformat it back to 8 gb. Reformat it with antiX linux. I found out I had messed up 4 of my flashdrives with it so I went through all of them and reformatted all the ones that were "downsized". Maybe the program isn't intended to be used with flashdrives?

    Posted 12/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks a lot

    Posted 12/14/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks