macam - USB webcam driver for Mac OS X Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
14
1
0
0
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this application as my usb Labtec Webcam Pro works albeit partially (plugged in directly & in a usb hub). I'm running OS 10.12 Sierra on my mac mini. Although the microphone works (so siri also works), I'm unable to get any picture/ video. I just get a black window within the maccam app. I've followed the instructions after checking that my device is compatible as per your list. Are you able to assist? Thank you.

    Posted 10/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just installed a MS Webcam Vx-3000 which is reportedly supported. I am running 10.11.6. I was able to capture some still shots using the Macam app but could not get anything else to work including skype despite installing the component in the quicktime library folder.

    Posted 08/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It just hasn't been updated in such a long time that it is broken

    Posted 07/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Havin issues with ps3 cam (SLEH-00448) on opencv.

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Software, Thanks. Now I can recycle all those webcams as part of my CCTV system. I was successful using both Quickier.App (Apple Mac App Store) and Hue WebCam Monitor (Softpedia dot com). Prefer the Quickier.app. installed on MacBook Pro and Mac Mini running Mavericks. Now, if I can watch the video feed over Wifi on my iPhone or iPad, I'll be golden. Any Ideas?

    Posted 12/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Webcam-osx, it's perfect!

    Posted 06/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for software and updates.

    Posted 06/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Latest build from 2009? Thus sadly not working under Mountain Lion. As others said, Macam displays one still image from the camera when hitting Play, and crashes when trying to record video.

    Posted 05/31/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    THIS CAN WORK FOLKS…. READ THIS FURTHER FOR HOW…. Usually works for me with Mountain Lion 10.8.3 on Mac Mini (2.3 GHz Intel Core i5)….. Using a Creative Labs Webcam Vista... Product ID: 0x405f Vendor ID: 0x041e (Creative Labs) amongst others…. The secret here is not to bother usinge the horribly unstable and non-working Macam.app to do anything! . . . Just install these drivers (specifically the Macam.component) and then go straight to using your cam with Quicktime 7.x…. (Don't forget to set it to your camera in Quicktime 7 preferences first.) Process that works: Install all Macam v0.9.2 software as normal. Launch Macam only once to initialize the component drivers and then quit it and never use it again. Restart your computer. Then use Quicktime 7.x ONLY to use your webcam live. Macam.app will only take a snapshot and does not any longer support live video under the current OS. Macam when launched will also seize access to the camera so Quicktime can not use it after Macam is launched, so don't launch it. Just use QuickTime to leverage the drivers that Macam installed which still work!!! The problem with this is you can not adjust the camera feed for color saturation, brightness, etc…

    Posted 03/27/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Apple is pushing all Mac OS users onto OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion) and Macam is simply not keeping up. Can you PLEASE upgrade this software, four years is a VERY long time in Software Development and there is no viable alternative for Mac users!!

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not working with MacOSX Mountain Lion, sadly. This is the only alternative.

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No updates for far too long, does not work Mountain Lion PS3 patch not pulled

    Posted 12/08/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No updates for a (way too) long time, resulting in an incompatibility of macam and Mac OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.x). Sadly there is no alternative out there.

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Freeze frame when trying to view in Macam still, and not compatible with FaceTime ,Photo Booth etc...update required.

    Posted 10/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not working under Mountain Lion. The program displays one still image from the camera when I hit Play, and crashes if I attempt to record a video. MBP 2012 Retina Creative VF0350 Also, it also seems the program is designed not to function as a driver, but as a stand-alone capture program, meaning I can't use it with Facetime or any other apps.

    Posted 08/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    at last! Now surely it will work :))) Thank you!

    Posted 03/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works with Tesco Technika W109 web cam, 10.6.8 -- cameras currently £7.97 in store

    Posted 02/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    "Uniden Surveillance System" works in "USB PC Camera Mode" on Windows XP but not Mac. This is a nifty system, low cost sold by Sams Club etc, but its needs a Mac Os (Leapard, ... Lion) solution. Any ideas? I hate having to run windows in emulation on my Mac just to be able to connect this system.

    Posted 02/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hey, well it didn't work with my SPC 700NC :(

    Posted 01/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works with my Philips PCVC830K/00

    Posted 09/30/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/15/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not Working for my Gateway T-6842 Chicony VIN 0x04f2 PID 0x04f2 running 10.6.5. . . Macam doesn't recognize camera. . .

    Posted 12/13/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It let me use a chineese microscope digital camera that came with a PC software. Good to take pictures but video is few frames per second.

    Posted 11/21/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bresser BioLux AL MicrOcular I and Philips SPC900NC/00 with OSX 10.6.4 and macam 0.9.2 all work great !!! MicrOcular I with macam produces 640x480 ( status: Connected to Common PixArt PAC207 based webcam (0x2468) ) Philips with macam produces 640x480 (status: Connected to Philips SPC 900NC ) Thank you very much !

    Posted 09/29/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I really appreciate your efforts to produce mac drivers for windows hardware.

    Posted 06/29/2010
Show next 4 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks