VirtualDub Icon

A video capture utility for 32-bit and 64-bit Windows platforms

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
109
2
1
1
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Doesn't let you use mp4 files but it saves to mp4? Doesn't make any sense. All my vids are mp4s.

    Posted 11/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It seems to be working correct, but my output AVI is unwatchable, completely wrong. While creating the output, the framerate drops and I have no idea what to do about this. Also the layout is very user unfriendly, it's hard to find any relevant options.

    Posted 05/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Still the best program for home video editing. Just add ffmpeg plugin from SF and you can open mp4 and other formats. The support in community is excellent. Add x264 plugin and you can save H264 (mp4, mkv, etc). I tried other applications, but I prefer VirtualDub for editing my videos (all of them are now MP4 HD videos recorded with Android smartphone or DSLR camera).

    Posted 04/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your software. It pretty deserved his fame. Not flawless and it can do not everything but this app is very helpful from time to time.

    Posted 12/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have heard a lot of about VirtualDub, however, I need to record something from TV stream and it was able to do the job. However, it was not without pain, firstly the capture window needed to be in the top left hand corner. Even then, it accidently over records and existing file. You have to set the capture file for each time you want to record and if you forget, then it overwrites it. Even if you nativate through this minefield, it just eats up diskspace as it records in AVI format. However, it would be better if could record in MP4 format. A small 3 minute segment took up 6GB disk space (and it was not a full screen). For the screen capture, it would be great if there was a 'square box' to select the area. I know there are third party MP4 tools, but it is more time to investigate etc... I hope there are programmers who can come along and bring this software up to date.

    Posted 10/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works as expected!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software, I use it to convert video files.

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    once I understood that VLC use somehow different codec, and that I needed a codec pack it works as expected. Awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow. Did exactly what I wanted to do. I had an mp4 video and wanted to create a gif file. Downloaded VirtualDub.. installed. Within 60 seconds I had my gif file. Wow.

    Posted 12/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Software

    Posted 04/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's the absolute best video editor out there. I mean, from the ones that don't do scene organization, effects, etc. Also a pretty excellent video capture software.

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exactly what I needed to analyze some AVI files for my PhD. Thanks!

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Been using VirtualDub for years never had a chance to thank the developer. Err... THANK YOU!!! :)

    Posted 02/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's like replacing my laptops webcam with a higher definition one, which I was willing to do...but crap all that micro soldering would cost me 35 dollars or more to set up for. With VDub I can set up a capture file, and record to avi and edit with it or windows movie maker and be satisified. There are no artifacts n the image whatsoever. I'm gonna try it with my Microsoft lifecam 5000 soon, as it is dedicated 720p. It should look awesome! Thanks again. I think every laptop webcam driver should include your software. Later.

    Posted 01/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Product. When it comes to my Vid Editing needs, VDub is there! As a software developer myself, I can assure you that it will not let you down. From ReEncoding Video to Croping Video , and so much more, it is all there. I would appreciate some official tutorials in the docs tho... Tutorials and help are a bit lacking, but non-the-less... VDub is there! +5 Metalio Bovinus(Hate to have to write this twice, well alteat I can edit it...) PS. One of the best editors I have seen, though, It has a little learning curve,... But don't be scared away by that. Just jump in and help out all you can or support this "collage kid". After all google was a bunch of collage kids, this is just one.

    Posted 10/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant piece of work. Very useful when combining thousands of images into a movie.

    Posted 09/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love this! I have been using this as a fast(ish), convenient video tool for almost 2 years now!!

    Posted 07/27/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this program quite a lot. It's very handy to fix up video files and also to join or cut out video parts. I always make sure I have VirtualDub after I reinstall my OS.

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I really like this kind of app. How come it is free? Am i missing something?

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you are looking for an app like this, then get it!

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looking for a great app? Well, this is it!

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for updates ;)

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Virtualdub, it's good!

    Posted 06/08/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks