Viking GPS data editor and analyzer Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
19
2
1
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi Visit the blog "Zona OpenGTS" (www) zona-opengts.blogspot.com Thanks !!!

    Posted 09/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice program, startup is really fast ! Viking is based on GTK, i already have installed that. Only 1 issue: when i install it drags in gpsbabel and another 300 MB of Qt5 and related deps. Strange to have Qt5 as requirement for a GTK program ?

    Posted 08/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks great and downloaded my Garmin tracks in a flash - but couldn't read my device directly and (more critically for me) the app fell over after 10minutes use! uninstalled! So it's free... but unstable. (The point would be to replace Garmin basecamp but while I don't like it at least it stays up...)

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Viking GPS data editor is a great tool for managing GPS data. I've been organizing botanical collecting using known collection sites, using coordinates from herbarium collections of hundreds of species of plants. The one difficulty I've had is configuring real-time GPS on my MacBook Pro that runs Mavericks. As far as I can tell, this is impossible. The only potential fix I've heard of is to install a virtual machine running a linux flavor. I haven't gotten that far yet.

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product!

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Summary: Powerful, loaded with features, but steep learning curve. The good: Very powerful, loaded with features; Can display map; Support Open Street Maps; Layers. The bad: No undo feature yet; Steep learning curve.

    Posted 12/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great for seeing where I've been on group-lead XC cycling!

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very useful tool to provide the ability to edit waypoints and view your GPS usage. Easy to edit tracks for uploading to Open Street Maps to remove some certain references like where I live. I use it at work to generate images of data gathered by GPS. I have not used all the features in the current release yet.

    Posted 12/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and use.

    Posted 11/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks all You Rock!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this every single day! I really liked it.

    Posted 09/12/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good tool to plan routes and to analyze the tracks after wards.

    Posted 09/01/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work.

    Posted 04/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lacks an "Undo" button, can't move groups of points between layers. Other than this, it's very nice code.

    Posted 10/19/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Planned a transalp with it, works great!

    Posted 08/07/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is nice to edit GPX files with.

    Posted 06/27/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and usefull!

    Posted 04/22/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    <3 it !!!

    Posted 04/20/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull software.

    Posted 03/24/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great piece of code. I've used it several times and recommended it highly to people looking for an open source tool for drawing things on maps.

    Posted 01/04/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, I use it all time. Screenshot with TopOSM maps loaded. http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/MiPub3bB_TR2_e3mLZM32A?feat=directlink

    Posted 11/06/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software which I use to look at how fast and where I sailed on a catamaran.

    Posted 12/05/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Another example of open source software trumping expensive, buggy closed source alternatives in a niche market. Great job so far - very promising to be the mozilla of GPS editors.

    Posted 11/17/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks