VcXsrv Windows X Server Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
44
4
0
1
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow! This project has enabled me to launch and use GUI Linux apps on Windows through WSL (Windows Subsystem for Linux). I've created this account just to write this 5 star review!

    Posted 11/21/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It installed and worked, unlike other X servers for windows

    Posted 04/30/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was looking for an Xserver for Windows 10 32-bit to connect with Ubuntu 16.04. I was first introduced to Xming, I figured the latest version of Xming wasn't completely free. I had found and tried older free version, but ran into a bunch of problems with loading errors and fonts. Sometimes the popup windows were out of bounds of screen and fonts were messed up. Some programs didn't load at all. As with VcXsrv, it worked right out of the box, didn't have to tweak anything. It just worked perfectly and fast. Thanks to developers for all the work and making it available for free!

    Posted 04/02/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    marha, please, give usage help in the wiki (the one printing out with -help option). Great software! Million thanks!

    Posted 03/31/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I could not use clipboard with XMing. I installed VcXsrv and now the problem is solved

    Posted 03/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I needed an X-server for the Windows Subsystem for Linux in Windwos 10. I tried the public domain version 6.9 of Xming before VcXsrv and the latter is so much better! With VcXsrv the DPI is automatically recognised and the fonts are properly scaled out of the box. I am using VcXsrv in multi window mode and I am enjoying seamlessly mixing native Windows 10 and native Ubuntu graphic programs without the need for Virtual Machines or remote connections.

    Posted 02/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fine. Easy and fast. The best XServer at this time. EDIT: performance is about 75%, but it's NOT A PROBLEM of VcXsrv. This is a "feature" of SSH implementation (by design). XRDP (also free) performance is about 95% because don't encrypt data. If you need performance, i suggest XRDP. if you need performance+encrypt xrdp+openVPN. VcXsrv works fine as XServer. (remember, you need install update KB2999226).Thanks.

    Posted 12/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best x server on windows OS.

    Posted 12/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm using it with windows linux subsystem so I can run XFCE on windows 10. Works the best of all the xwindows i tried. the UI needs some work, or maybe documentation. The setup choices are confusing.

    Posted 11/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful to run x windows over a Windows OS

    Posted 09/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 08/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WOW Maximize window works in terminator!! As another guy said best for Bash on Ubuntu on Windows. Also the default DPI is excellent.

    Posted 08/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Probably the best X11 server for the new Linux Runtime for Windows 10. (aka: Ubuntu Bash Shell)

    Posted 08/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ORIGINAL SPRING 2016 -- Thanks for software. It works. X11 forwarded from VPS (OpenSUSE Linux with XFCE) over SSH (Putty client on Windows 10). Then multiple Chromium windows can be started from Putty console command line. There is quite a bit of gobbleydegook appearing in console window, but doesn't affect the Chrome windows. Clipboard works fine in both directions. Quite stable (I think crashed once or twice in a couple of months daily use -- but who knows what element in the chain was responsible for this.) Don't forget to put same X11 session number in Putty and in VcXsrv. Could be a little more pretty and automated, but on a day to day basis, works great. UPDATED DECEMBER 2016 -- VcXsrv is great. Now using every day for eight months. Never crashes. And starting the X server can be automated in fact (a little tricky with the file, but eventually you get it). And then you learn that WINDOWS CAN BE RESIZED. And you can have AS MANY WINDOWS as you like. All on your Windows 10 desktop (and with MULTIPLE MONITORS too), pointed via Putty to your remote Linux server. So, even more a vote of confidence.

    Posted 05/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this nice software.

    Posted 03/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is no need to use obsolete Xming. VcXsrv is PERFECT solution!!!

    Posted 02/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant, fast and light, runs perfectly on windows 10. no font issues.

    Posted 01/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install, work flawlessly.

    Posted 01/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works really smooth indeed, thanks for developing this!

    Posted 08/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is much better than x-win32 and it is free: 1) it launches faster than x-win32 (1sec vs 5sec) 2) it runs faster than x-win32, xclock pops up immediately (x-win32 takes 3sec for xclock to pop up) 3) x-win32 will pop up a window, asking whether to allow connection from ::1, which is stupid, of course allow to connect, and even if I choose to remember by selecting 'always', after disconnect and close, the next time it pops up again. This one has no such silly pop up, it starts to work right away. Fast and accurate!-:)

    Posted 07/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Congratulations to the developer! This is just an excellent build of X windows. It's fast, looks perfect, installs easily.

    Posted 02/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Documentation is a bit lite However if you have moved from somthing like Xming then the same command line options work. e.g to run in the background as multiwindow with clipboard :0 -clipboard -multiwindow The advantage over Xming is that Copy and Paste works as it should with out any issues.

    Posted 01/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and does the job!

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finally, a simple but solid X server for windows. The Cygwin X server crashes when launching certain programs. Xming won't copy and paste reliably. VcXsrv just works.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Vcxsrv is the best! Thanks.

    Posted 06/24/2013
Show next 19 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, Thank you