VcXsrv Windows X Server Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
37
2
0
1
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for software. It works. X11 forwarded from VPS (OpenSUSE Linux) over SSH (Putty client on Windows 7). Then multiple Chromium windows can be started from Putty console command line. There is quite a bit of gobbleydegook appearing in console window, but doesn't affect the Chrome windows. Clipboard works fine in both directions. Quite stable (I think crashed once or twice in a couple of months daily use -- but who knows what element in the chain was responsible for this.) Don't forget to put same X11 session number in Putty and in VcXsrv. Could be a little more pretty and automated, but on a day to day basis, works great.

    Posted 05/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this nice software.

    Posted 03/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is no need to use obsolete Xming. VcXsrv is PERFECT solution!!!

    Posted 02/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant, fast and light, runs perfectly on windows 10. no font issues.

    Posted 01/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install, work flawlessly.

    Posted 01/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works really smooth indeed, thanks for developing this!

    Posted 08/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is much better than x-win32 and it is free: 1) it launches faster than x-win32 (1sec vs 5sec) 2) it runs faster than x-win32, xclock pops up immediately (x-win32 takes 3sec for xclock to pop up) 3) x-win32 will pop up a window, asking whether to allow connection from ::1, which is stupid, of course allow to connect, and even if I choose to remember by selecting 'always', after disconnect and close, the next time it pops up again. This one has no such silly pop up, it starts to work right away. Fast and accurate!-:)

    Posted 07/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Congratulations to the developer! This is just an excellent build of X windows. It's fast, looks perfect, installs easily.

    Posted 02/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Documentation is a bit lite However if you have moved from somthing like Xming then the same command line options work. e.g to run in the background as multiwindow with clipboard :0 -clipboard -multiwindow The advantage over Xming is that Copy and Paste works as it should with out any issues.

    Posted 01/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and does the job!

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finally, a simple but solid X server for windows. The Cygwin X server crashes when launching certain programs. Xming won't copy and paste reliably. VcXsrv just works.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Vcxsrv is the best! Thanks.

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After an endless search for a fix of Xming's broken clipboard or for an alternative X-server on Windows I found VcXsrv. Finally copy and paste works fine between Linux and Windows. I can only recommend it. Thank you for the great work.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software, good program to use in our company without the bugs of Xming :D Please keep up the good work!

    Posted 03/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just put together a linux server box and I wanted to connect to it from my Windows XP desktop. I had previously downloaded Xming as it was the first open source X server for Windows that I had come across. I finally discovered how to do what I wanted and that involved using xlaunch and creating an XDMCP session. But Xming was not exactly stable in my lightdm lxsession environment. Windows were difficult to move and I could only go through 1 or 2 session invocations before Xming would crash. After some investigation I decided VcXsrv would be worth a try and it was. Windows move and size with alacrity and sessions can come and go with no VcXsrv problems. VcXsrv comes with fonts that render the screen exactly as it is rendered by the native Xorg server. Xming used Windows XP fonts which looked pretty good but weren't the right size. Overall, I rate VcXsrv vastly superior to Xming. By the way, for those who don't already know, the SourceForge version of Xming hasn't been updated since 2007. Oh, one more thing. A VcXsrv XDMCP session can actually survive a Windows XP suspend to ram and subsequent resume.

    Posted 03/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free X server for windows by a long shot.

    Posted 03/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How about a native x64 build?

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works, very small, no complaints.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply perfect!

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great - maybe the best - alternative to Xming (at least, the open version of the latter). Works fast and stable, and I am not experiencing the copy&paste troubles I was encountering with Xming anymore!

    Posted 02/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program vcxsrv, thanks.

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and works.

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful work. It's better than Xming on my Windows 7 laptop. I love this project. Keep your nice work.

    Posted 11/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 10/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    deseo bajar vcxsrv gratis

    Posted 09/14/2012
Show next 12 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks