VcXsrv Windows X Server Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
43
3
0
1
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is awesome!! Just worked better for me.. Greaattt... :)

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program works quite well. I have tried Xwin32, Mobaxterm, and Xming and they do not work as good as VcXsrv. VcXsrv ii faster than Xwin32, it more stable than Mobaxterm, and it just works unlike Xming.

    Posted 04/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finally, a simple but solid X server for windows. The Cygwin X server crashes when launching certain programs. Xming won't copy and paste reliably. VcXsrv just works.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Vcxsrv is the best! Thanks.

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After an endless search for a fix of Xming's broken clipboard or for an alternative X-server on Windows I found VcXsrv. Finally copy and paste works fine between Linux and Windows. I can only recommend it. Thank you for the great work.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software, good program to use in our company without the bugs of Xming :D Please keep up the good work!

    Posted 03/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just put together a linux server box and I wanted to connect to it from my Windows XP desktop. I had previously downloaded Xming as it was the first open source X server for Windows that I had come across. I finally discovered how to do what I wanted and that involved using xlaunch and creating an XDMCP session. But Xming was not exactly stable in my lightdm lxsession environment. Windows were difficult to move and I could only go through 1 or 2 session invocations before Xming would crash. After some investigation I decided VcXsrv would be worth a try and it was. Windows move and size with alacrity and sessions can come and go with no VcXsrv problems. VcXsrv comes with fonts that render the screen exactly as it is rendered by the native Xorg server. Xming used Windows XP fonts which looked pretty good but weren't the right size. Overall, I rate VcXsrv vastly superior to Xming. By the way, for those who don't already know, the SourceForge version of Xming hasn't been updated since 2007. Oh, one more thing. A VcXsrv XDMCP session can actually survive a Windows XP suspend to ram and subsequent resume.

    Posted 03/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free X server for windows by a long shot.

    Posted 03/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How about a native x64 build?

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply perfect!

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great - maybe the best - alternative to Xming (at least, the open version of the latter). Works fast and stable, and I am not experiencing the copy&paste troubles I was encountering with Xming anymore!

    Posted 02/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful work. It's better than Xming on my Windows 7 laptop. I love this project. Keep your nice work.

    Posted 11/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really great work. I love this software. New wiki in the making too, so should be easier for new users to get going. Give it a try, you won't regret it :)

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice tool!

    Posted 07/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice app :)

    Posted 04/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No configuration, no problem, good performances, easy to use. Nearly perfect.

    Posted 03/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just tested this X Server, far better than Xming, its opengl support is perfect.

    Posted 02/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you. I've been struggling with problems with Xming's copy and paste functionality and stability and this just works, and does so flawlessly.

    Posted 11/11/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great X windows server. Works tons better than last openly available Xming. No crashes, no erratic behaviour. Great job!

    Posted 09/07/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great software / works well. maybe you can test it on a vmware windows xp too ...

    Posted 01/12/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Practical and easy to use, Regards.

    Posted 06/10/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This a very interesting project BUT it cannot work on Windows 2000 since function Attachconsole from kernel32.dll gives an error message which I think is connected to the following bug report on MSDN site: There is a bug in the header file wincon.h, on line 753, which defines AttachConsole conditionally with: #if (_WIN32_WINNT >= 0x0500) Note that 0x0500 is what _WIN32_WINNT_WIN2K defines to, on line 24 of sdkddkver.h: #define _WIN32_WINNT_WIN2K 0x0500 We just shipped product that crashes on startup for our Windows 2000 clients, because of this.

    Posted 02/02/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's working perfectly fine as a replacement for xming on my machine. xming caused to many troubles for me.

    Posted 11/16/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks