VcXsrv Windows X Server Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
36
2
0
1
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried to install this software in my Windows 10 Laptop, I have installed K7 Licenced Antivirus and it Quarantined this software. It shows warning that this file is suspicious.

    Posted 11/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm using it with windows linux subsystem so I can run XFCE on windows 10. Works the best of all the xwindows i tried. the UI needs some work, or maybe documentation. The setup choices are confusing.

    Posted 11/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful to run x windows over a Windows OS

    Posted 09/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 08/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WOW Maximize window works in terminator!! As another guy said best for Bash on Ubuntu on Windows. Also the default DPI is excellent.

    Posted 08/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Probably the best X11 server for the new Linux Runtime for Windows 10. (aka: Ubuntu Bash Shell)

    Posted 08/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for software. It works. X11 forwarded from VPS (OpenSUSE Linux) over SSH (Putty client on Windows 7). Then multiple Chromium windows can be started from Putty console command line. There is quite a bit of gobbleydegook appearing in console window, but doesn't affect the Chrome windows. Clipboard works fine in both directions. Quite stable (I think crashed once or twice in a couple of months daily use -- but who knows what element in the chain was responsible for this.) Don't forget to put same X11 session number in Putty and in VcXsrv. Could be a little more pretty and automated, but on a day to day basis, works great.

    Posted 05/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As a non-programmer of X display software I cannot judge the code, etc., so I can only really review as a user - ie, ease of use, documentation, etc. The software may be a technical marvel, but if key features/functionality do not work, there is no documentation available on said feature(s), and no answers from the developers for most/all questions posted - some as long as 2-3 years ago... then it doesn't really matter how awesome the software may be in other ways. There is little to no documentation of anything for this windows X server. A major show-stopper for usability of this software for me is the problem of the mouse cursor disappearing while it is over the remote X window/application regardless of which type of launch you do. The mouse works fine elsewhere in Windows but as soon as you place it over any part of the X window, it vanishes, making it useless for myself or more importantly for my wife who I am trying to set remote access to an X/Linux app up for. (for the record, I'm trying to use it to run virt-manager remotely from a Windows 7 system). The remote X display rendering is horribly slow, and it is not due to lack of display/GL/drawing or any other video card hardware capability on the client side. No need to provide specs of the video cards on the client as I am not trying to impress anyone. Remote display on the same client FLIES running Linux and SPICE. Obviously, remote X display != SPICE, but if there was any documentation, support, or even semi-intelligent discussion of problems with this software available or evident otherwise I could read it and try to work through the problems. With basically nobody's questions about ANYTHING related to this software answered for a period of years, I would be a fool to expect things to be any different for any questions I post. Thanks but I'll try something else to accomplish what I need. Have spent enough time on this approach.

    Posted 04/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this nice software.

    Posted 03/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is no need to use obsolete Xming. VcXsrv is PERFECT solution!!!

    Posted 02/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant, fast and light, runs perfectly on windows 10. no font issues.

    Posted 01/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install, work flawlessly.

    Posted 01/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works really smooth indeed, thanks for developing this!

    Posted 08/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is much better than x-win32 and it is free: 1) it launches faster than x-win32 (1sec vs 5sec) 2) it runs faster than x-win32, xclock pops up immediately (x-win32 takes 3sec for xclock to pop up) 3) x-win32 will pop up a window, asking whether to allow connection from ::1, which is stupid, of course allow to connect, and even if I choose to remember by selecting 'always', after disconnect and close, the next time it pops up again. This one has no such silly pop up, it starts to work right away. Fast and accurate!-:)

    Posted 07/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Congratulations to the developer! This is just an excellent build of X windows. It's fast, looks perfect, installs easily.

    Posted 02/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Documentation is a bit lite However if you have moved from somthing like Xming then the same command line options work. e.g to run in the background as multiwindow with clipboard :0 -clipboard -multiwindow The advantage over Xming is that Copy and Paste works as it should with out any issues.

    Posted 01/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and does the job!

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is awesome!! Just worked better for me.. Greaattt... :)

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program works quite well. I have tried Xwin32, Mobaxterm, and Xming and they do not work as good as VcXsrv. VcXsrv ii faster than Xwin32, it more stable than Mobaxterm, and it just works unlike Xming.

    Posted 04/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finally, a simple but solid X server for windows. The Cygwin X server crashes when launching certain programs. Xming won't copy and paste reliably. VcXsrv just works.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Vcxsrv is the best! Thanks.

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After an endless search for a fix of Xming's broken clipboard or for an alternative X-server on Windows I found VcXsrv. Finally copy and paste works fine between Linux and Windows. I can only recommend it. Thank you for the great work.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software, good program to use in our company without the bugs of Xming :D Please keep up the good work!

    Posted 03/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just put together a linux server box and I wanted to connect to it from my Windows XP desktop. I had previously downloaded Xming as it was the first open source X server for Windows that I had come across. I finally discovered how to do what I wanted and that involved using xlaunch and creating an XDMCP session. But Xming was not exactly stable in my lightdm lxsession environment. Windows were difficult to move and I could only go through 1 or 2 session invocations before Xming would crash. After some investigation I decided VcXsrv would be worth a try and it was. Windows move and size with alacrity and sessions can come and go with no VcXsrv problems. VcXsrv comes with fonts that render the screen exactly as it is rendered by the native Xorg server. Xming used Windows XP fonts which looked pretty good but weren't the right size. Overall, I rate VcXsrv vastly superior to Xming. By the way, for those who don't already know, the SourceForge version of Xming hasn't been updated since 2007. Oh, one more thing. A VcXsrv XDMCP session can actually survive a Windows XP suspend to ram and subsequent resume.

    Posted 03/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free X server for windows by a long shot.

    Posted 03/15/2013
Show next 15 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks