Ultimate Edition Icon

An Ubuntu remix for both new and experienced Linux sophisticates

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
48
1
2
0
16
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been following and using Ultimate Edition since version 3.x. It's the best non-Windows operating system around for those who don't like giving up all their private data to Microsof(t). All Linux/ubuntu derivatives have trouble dealing with the millions of combinations of hardware avaiable through the years. So match the version to the date of your machine, especially on laptops. Don't download the latest version and expect it to work on a 12 year old laptop. You need to pick an older version so you get the hardware matched. I like trying different versions, and I'll spend a week (after work) installing versions starting with the newest and then work my way backwards to find the newest version that does work. Also some laptops won't install from USB even though they'll boot from a USB. This makes it take even longer (burning DVDs and all), BUT, it's worth it to get a great, fast, operating system that doesn't bow to the Corporate Tyrant Microsoft. It's always frustrating to get errors but google them and you'll find the fixes. The amount of free software is worth the trouble, unless you're a windows cry-baby. The new 5.5 version looks like windows, I like the 5.0 desktop better. This is an operating system that can do 98% of what windows can and it's FREE, gives you free software, and gives you free versions to use the one you like. Ubuntu is great but one look at Ultimate Edition Desktop and you know you've found a design team in UE that knows what they're doing!

    Posted 07/01/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using Linux for several years now. I still think of myself as a Noob. One thing I learned early on with downloading ISO files is USE A DOWNLOAD MANAGER! All you one star people giving bad reviews because you haven’t learned that simple lesson. Ultimate Edition Linux is THEE OS! Thee Mahn and his team are striving for perfection. I myself think they are getting very close!

    Posted 07/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Another Winning Distro, thanks to TheeMahn, and all of the ultimate edition crew for making linux easier than whats their face

    Posted 02/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ultimate Edition - this is exactly what you need!

    Posted 06/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice work ! Great project.

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and usefull OS

    Posted 05/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program with lots of useful tools.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very nice, after testing for awhile, I have now installed it on all computers, thanks very much :)

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this OS has been FlaggEd As ImaPropirAte because it is, absolutely sick!!

    Posted 04/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project and nice work guys!

    Posted 11/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project! Thanks for good work!

    Posted 10/27/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Will there be (if so, when?) a 3.5-x86 update, or is 3.5 going to only be for x64?

    Posted 10/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product ultimateedition

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A handy tool!!! Thank you!

    Posted 09/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pinguy OS is a very nice out-of-the box Linux Distro, great for beginners not wanting to have to install everything because it comes preloaded with everything you need.

    Posted 08/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good project !

    Posted 07/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and easy to use. Thanks

    Posted 07/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Most awesome piece of software genius to ever grace the pixels of any monitor. I also think there should be a stable community torrent location for all of the different UE iso's. I found this one: linuxtracker.org/index.php?page=torrents&search=ultimate+edition&category=0&active=1&tracker=0 It works pretty well, but I think there should be an "official" one somewhere. If there is I'd be interested to know about it.

    Posted 07/04/2012
Show next 23 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks