texmakerx transition project Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
25
0
0
0
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the most promising LaTeX editor out there, and it deserves to be better known!

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stupid nationalist and buggy clone of the original Texmaker

    Posted 12/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great! texmakerx is very userfriendly program.

    Posted 11/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love that its free

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for development

    Posted 05/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a lot of bugs, but this program will certainly find its users

    Posted 05/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I do not understand the bitterness of the discussion here. I have used TexMaker and TexMakerX for my work. An have settled for TexMakerX (2.1), It makes my work easier to revise and redact, and its reacher in comments and hints on LaTex syntax. Yes its a fork or TexMaker, and the authors say so. Perhaps a change in logo or in the name could help to lower the evident bitterness between the developers of both projects. Otherwise, forks are normal in the open source world, though would be better avoided. I found TexMakerX to have features that I like that I do not find in TexMaker (I'll give a try to version 3). I do not know why the two groups forked but I find TexMakerX to be reacher in functions, help hints and specially in easiness to compare the source and pdf of the manuscript. The program runs well and the bugs, if any, are minimal.

    Posted 06/18/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great autocomplete, even on normal text!! easy setup simple but powerful GUI

    Posted 06/05/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I really love TexMakerX. Using the port to eComstation aka OS/2 vNext. Was looking for such a nice LATeX editor with integrated spell checking on my platform for years (writing my dissertation). Developers are very responsive (a feature request on svn checkout/in was realized in a couple of weeks). Thanks a lot for this cross-platform tool. And thanks to the netlabs.org team for porting Qt 4 and this application.

    Posted 04/01/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using the same name and the same (old) logo than the original soft is a scandal! Shame on the authors of this "fork" : benito van der zander and jan sundermeyer. They don't seem to know what are the open source rules for a fork (they should take a look at the recent ffmpeg fork : the "forkers" can't use the original name and logo). Shame too on sourceforge which accepts any kind of projects without making any verfication.

    Posted 03/20/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Very good projet! Great job! Congratulations.

    Posted 03/19/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    First of all, I would like to thank the developers of this nice program. I have tried many different Tex editors for my work, and texmakerx was the last one I have decided. On the other, being an experienced Latex user which tried many different editors, I can see the positive and negative features of this program which I listed below. Positives: + Quick build is really very quick. The speed of Texmakerx when producing pdf files is by far the fastest I have ever seen. It is much faster than other editors such as texniccenter, winedt, led. + The menus, shortcuts, buttons can be easily custumized, which is very desired feature for an experienced user. + The structure of the document is updated automatically when a new formula, section etc. is added. There is no need to refresh as in many other editors, There is no refresh button for this at all:)) + Cross references are added easily by selecting from the list. ... any many. On the other hand, these are the ones that I want to see changed in this program - Continously scrolling in built-in pdf viewer as in texmaker. - Buttons for \left[ \right], \left( \right), \left\{ \right\} to be used math mode. Anyway, I created this buttons at user tags, and uploaded images for them (see the attached figure). However, I am afraid that I have to repeat these with an updated version. - The wizards are working good. But they can be automatic as in winedt. As an example, when I press itemize, ennumerate or eqnarray, the program can ask me how many items I would like to use. - I can not find a button on the main panel for \begin{equation} nor \begin{eqnarray}. I have created anyway but they do not have images. - I have had some problems with bibtex and editor itself, and I have reported them in the bugs section. In my opinion, texmakerx is one the best Tex editors available. I agree with the some users on this page which says that texmakerx has some very annoying bugs (not too less) but I beileve that the developers can fix them and make this program much better with our feedback.

    Posted 03/06/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/21/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The most buggy free latex editor i've tried : - the Qt unicode support is broken - when you select a piece of text, you can scroll down but not scroll up! - "fisher price" and very disturbing syntax highlighting - despite thousands bugs fix and commits, the QCodeEdit library used by texmakerx is still full of bugs - the automatic latex syntax check is a nigthmare - buggy inline preview (100% cpu usage) - the "geometry package" assistant doesn't work - not at all cross-platform : the macosx package doesn't work! - a ridiculous menu named "idefix"! (why not "mickey mouse"?) - very arrogant authors who should better debug their code instead of posting themselves positive reviews!

    Posted 02/15/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Too much bugs. The latex syntax check is very buggy : a lot of valid latex commands are signaled like errors. With the "tabular tools", you can loose data. The editor is slow and the pdf viewer is very limited.

    Posted 02/10/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Old fashioned editor with very unpolished interface. Too much annoying bugs for a daily work. The others free latex editors (texniccenter, texworks and texmaker) work better than this alpha soft.

    Posted 02/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A nightmare to use and to configure. Too much buttons, menus entries and buggy stuff.

    Posted 02/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    90% of the code comes from others soft (texmaker, texworks,, kile ...). And it's a very bad mix with a lot of bugs and encoding troubles.The authors should better create something original instead of copying and copying again code from others editors.

    Posted 02/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This buggy fork is less extended than the original texmaker editor. It only adds bugs and useless options.

    Posted 02/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A lot of bugs in the 2.0 version (like for all the previous releases). This editor is only a buggy copy of others soft.

    Posted 02/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful fork of TeXMaker. I like it a lot. Thanks for the good work. Hopefully the flame war ends after renaming TeXMakerX. Good luck.

    Posted 02/04/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great for all platforms.. if you're moving around between OSs

    Posted 01/25/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don not know why TexmakerX get so much thumbs down - maybe the "original Texmaker"s disapprove that this fork has many good features. I like it a lot and prefer it over Texmaker. It is the best cross platform LaTeX-Editer I know. Thumbs up!

    Posted 01/19/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best portable latex ide

    Posted 11/29/2010
Show next 10 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks