TEncoder Video Converter Icon

A multithreaded A/V converter, editor, downloader, and DVD ripper

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
31
6
2
1
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A good converter with a lot of features, but its user interface seems to be complicated. If you don't need DVD rip, consider FFMPEG Windows 1 Click Intel (google it or search here). It converts video in any format to basic mp4 h264 that can be played by any browser, computer or mobile. Also it enhances video's brightness and loudness automatically without settings to learn.

    Posted 07/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very well done converter, If just could accurately split and join clips of all supported formats in a lossless way (direct copy) it would be perfect.

    Posted 06/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A DVD ripper has been added to the TEncoder, so today I tested this function by having it to rip an old DVD that employs the CSS protection. At the beginning, TEncoder successfully read the DVD info including titles, chapters, audio tracks, and subtitles, so I thought TEncoder could do the conversion. I was wrong! When I clicked on the “Start” button under the “DVD Jobs” tab, TEncoder told me it failed to rip the DVD.

    Posted 06/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull

    Posted 12/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely the best video encoder for Windows. It's awesome as a youtube-dl GUI as well.

    Posted 08/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    better than megui, staxrip

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's free and open-source, + works better than any other converter I ever used. Awesome!

    Posted 05/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had to convert some videos in the past to mp4 and relied on this software which did the job very well for my needs. I must confess I didn't find the interface that so easy to get to the combinations I was looking for, but I guess it's because I'm not that proficient in video and sound manipulation in spite of not being that kind of dummy user. Recently I needed to download an interview I had recorded in youtube using Google's Hangout On Air (very cool, by the way) but youtube only provides the download as an mp4. I needed an mp3 to manipulate in Audacity. And the softwares in my Windows 2008 only convert to m4a and wma (Microsoft always so incompatible with its users needs!). So I was back to sourceforge (in which I trust and have been counting on for years) and was pleasantly surprised by the new features the author, Ozok, has added in the recent upgrades: You can now download your videos from youtube and other hosts, amongst other good news. It took me a little while to get to the combinations leading me to extract the mp3 during the download operation, but it was very fast and again accomplished very well the task. I share the steps with the other users so that they can save a bit of time: 1. In the tab "Video Downloader" enable the "Convert downloaded videos" 2. In the "Video Codec" dropdown box, select "Video codec: NONE" This will enable the mp3 to be downloaded along with the mp4 too. It was very fast in my case. Another option is to download the mp4 first and then provide the settings I mentioned to get the mp3 file after clicking the "Encode" button from the "Video/Audio converter" tab. I love the portable version but have already used the version installable and none of them come with advertisements, try to change your browser toolbar, install plugins or other annoying stuff. It's stable and I guess it's very safe because I didn't notice any strange behaviors after testing in my testing environment, but I'm not that super user also. In the end, I would highly recommend this software and leave here my congratulations to Ozok by the great job and the persistence improving his tool day by day. Enjoy everyone!

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think it is excellent software and it is very fast . Only 1 thing annoying me which is Arabic subtitle encoding it is not correct for the letter it is separated but actually in Arabic language the letters are always connected I and I tried a lot with different subtitles encoding and fonts option but no way I think it is not a big issue because I saw it working well in other converters .. I hope you can fix this soon because really it is amazing application

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thats trendy...

    Posted 03/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    2014-10-22 Like one guy, did not know it could Windows 7 32bit! Does not state Windows version requirement on Main Page! Shame! Downloads 64bit version... 32 bit under all files. 2014-10-22 After bugging out on 64bit version (shame again), found and gave the 32bit version a go; that hopefully will run! Added Star, it ran. 2014-10-23 Easy Install of 32bit version, program is fairly easy to use, and does so far... some what I expected. However, for some reason the layout doesn't feel intuitive. eg: Wanted to convert to .avi, so I drilled down encoders for .avi, and didn't find one. Found a profile(?) that said 'Odys_MP_X56_avi' and expected .avi for that; but, it used Xvid. Perhaps Xvid uses .avi, I personally don't know, so don't know what an Odys is, did recognize a lot of the profiles, I see where this could be useful for people who don't know anything about encoding... but, not intuitive for me. Opted for an X_Box format, so friend can view... we'll see. Might fail because I didn't format on XBox yet, if so that's Microsoft's shame when they can't even maintain compatibility within their own family. Added two stars for pretty much doing what I needed; but, there's something funky about the way it's laid out; we'll see as time goes by. It did complete the tasks requested, and my machine didn't go to sleep while it was running... almost tempted to give it a star just for that, even MS fails at that from time to time.

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for the valuable converter and video utility. But I'm sorry, the main download offered doesn't reveal itself as 64 bit until the very very last moment. Could you please differentiate among every offered file what is 32 and what is 64 bit?

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does what it says and is fast.

    Posted 05/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    after test lot of encoders... this is the best...

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product, easy to use, no unwanted 'add-on' products.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very simple and easy to use but powerfull

    Posted 01/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried several other Video Converting programs before stumbling upon this one. No malware of other crap, no nagscreens, no toolbars. Works like a charm, and is very fast and stable. Converts between an amazing amount of formats, and one can adjust about every property of the output file. Not the easiest program out there, but it works the best and gets the job done in one single screen. I am very pleased with this software, and do not think I'll ever need anything else.

    Posted 01/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. It is simple to use, yet surprisingly very powerful. It is very stable. I have stopped using Handbrake in favor of TEncoder.

    Posted 09/30/2013
Show next 23 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks