SystemRescueCd Icon

A Linux system rescue disk as a bootable CD-ROM or USB stick

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
54
1
0
4
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb collections to access any computer system by booting from CD or USB Drive. When a system is in trouble boot using systemrescuecd and fix it.

    Posted 09/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    First I apologize for my poor English (I'm from Italy) Well, though support and documentation are not updated nor perfect, I think System Rescue CD is a great tool, perhaps the best among the ones I keep in my multiboot USB. It's not for beginners, since it requires some Linux and PC rescue knowledge, but this is not a defect on my opinion. It's a pity it doesn't have ClamAV anymore (once it had) and that it's not fully updated in it's floppy section. I was only able to delete supergrub disk image and copy a newer version. System Rescue CD is a complete tool (if it had an AV tool it would be enough to manage a PC) anyway and I think any system administrator and PC technician should have it in their bag. The only tool that can be compared to SysRescueCD is Caine: it's a forensic tool but i can be used like a rescue CD. But Caine is very large (more than 3Gb ISO) and it's not updated like SysRescueCD. SysRescueCD can do a lot of things you can do with any distro, but it has a different structure that makes it unique: not just a simple distro with a lot of tool... Sysrescue CD can recover data (also on damaged partition), clone partition, image, securely wipe data, check disks... and meny, meny other things. SysRescueCD is also the tool you want if you have to learn Linux: it teaches you how to manage partition, how to use command line etc... My final judgment is EXCELLENT!

    Posted 08/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this livecd

    Posted 08/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great system with many powerful tools. For best use you must of course know or read up on the tools. Good documentation and tutorials exist on the website (and tools websites and rest of internet... of course)

    Posted 07/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great product. Wiki is non-existent. Support is non-existent.

    Posted 02/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    but will it rescue an HD that's been forced into 'RAW' filesystem mode?? <losing it's NTFS filesystem>???? 'EASY_US 's Wizard seems to be the only thing that will fix such a problem aND retrieve true filenames tooo ... for 70 USD , though!!

    Posted 12/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Years ago, SystemRescueCd was THE tool of choice when it was about repairing broken PCs. But right now, the boot disk is massively over-configured so the boot process will get stuck in a rather early stage if something is not in order with your system. Silly thing wants to prepare everything automatically, no matter if network or attached disk. I'm asking myself what the author uses his tool for. For whatever reason, he has also crippled the Gentoo system he uses by killing TrueCrypt. If you have an existing TC disk, SystemRescueCd won't help you. And he himself won't either, answers requests only if they please him.

    Posted 08/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A must for evry IT admin. Many thanks for the veryuseful sw.

    Posted 05/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This disc is handy for many things. Boots on just about everything I run it on. Thanks for producing this product.

    Posted 05/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Handy

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great for many different tasks: - Manage disk partitions with GParted - Clone disk partitions with GParted - Rescue and back up data - Manage GRUB boot loader - Wipe disks - Boot FreeDOS - and more...

    Posted 01/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I REALLY like SystemRescue, but prefer to pair it up with KNOPPIX on a USB drive. HOWEVER, I REALLY would like to see downloading access to the ISO be made available via TORRENT, as TORRENT is easier on servers and downloaders alike!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SystemRescueCd is the best!

    Posted 12/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ya descargado y comenzamos a probarlos, de inicio trae herramientas muy útiles. Gracias.

    Posted 12/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project

    Posted 09/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A Must-have tool for System Admins.

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Saved the day several times! An essential tool in the belt of a Systems Administrator.

    Posted 05/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wery powerfull disk! Thanks!

    Posted 04/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    System Rescue CD is great! I have used it for years. Wonderful tool set. A must for system admins.

    Posted 02/24/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good work! Fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 07/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very difficult to install. Good work!!

    Posted 07/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    TrueCrypt support is really missing. The author suggests migrating away from TrueCrypt, but how, without the tool? The whole disk is near undocumented (a simple text file would do, but there is none). The shell defaults are strange and no help whatsoever. The most recent version fails to come up properly if the system is not cold booted, and if there is a LVM drive present that is not in perfect state, the boot scripts will stall: No help if you want to do a repair. Concerning Windows tools, there is near nothing to speak of. Some of the backup tools are outdated or critically buggy. The project chief doesn't answer requests, obviously he doesn't care. I cannot recommend this disk. (updated May 2015)

    Posted 03/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Two quick words to define SystemRescueCd: TOP QUALITY! VERY useful and easy even for common users and a great help for system administrators. ABSOLUTELY recommended! :-)

    Posted 02/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 02/12/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks