Stellarium Icon

A planetarium software that shows a 3D simulation of the night sky

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
368
3
4
0
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i first used this program several years ago and i just installed it on a new computer after not using it for a while. this is such an amazing program! i find it so easy to use, it has a great user interface, and so comprehensive in its features. and it's free!!! the only thing i've found that could be improved (i'm not astronomer) was setting your current location. if there was a way pan/zoom on the map (link it to open maps or google maps) so you could select your position, that would be great. in the meantime, i'll cut/paste lat/lon from google earth. donation made; keep up the great work.

    Posted 05/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Incredible software with one serious drawback: It needs text entry, search, map zoom, etc. on specifying viewing locations. It takes way too long to scroll down to "United States of America", for example. The location map is almost uselessly small and needs zoom/select capability. I apologize if these functions are already user-selectable and I haven't learned how to change them, but it's not for lack of looking through the Settings options; I just don't see it yet.

    Posted 03/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best app ever!

    Posted 03/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of my best apps ever !!

    Posted 12/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The info page needs to state clearly that this release will only work on 64-bit architecture operating systems. I have just wasted 5 minuets of my time finding this out (I use 32 bit XP).

    Posted 10/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's impressive to see this amount of functionality packed into such an easy-to-use program. Once I was able to sort out the various star catalog downloads, this program was dead easy to use. The search functions well for more commonly-found deep sky objects, and even some not-so common objects. It even found SN1987a!

    Posted 09/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for this great program!

    Posted 08/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, I love!. But if you give problems with satellites, you must uninstall and reinstall, checking all boxes remove

    Posted 07/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful program! Thanks for creator. Very useful for me.

    Posted 06/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As always, a great Sourceforge achievement. NEW*** In the new Caltech online course, The Science of the Solar System (coursera.org), Stellarium is an assigned study aid. An important vote of confidence and a tribute to the quality of your creations (Audacity, Open Office, etc). Love ya!

    Posted 04/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome program. Constantly improving and evolving. Great community. Powerful scripting and options.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hi, support for x32??

    Posted 02/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Très beau programme.

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice program. I will use it.

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    all fine, except when ran the script to see the anlemma (path of sun through the year) program crashed.

    Posted 12/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am using Stellarium now for about a year. It is absolutely ingenious to plan photographic sessions. It is easy to use, looks good and allow customisation to see what your setup is able to capture. I highly recommend Stellarium to anybody remotely interested in astronomy.

    Posted 12/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome

    Posted 12/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is wonderful. Even my 7-years brother love this program. You're great.

    Posted 11/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Program for star gazing.

    Posted 10/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Incredible software!

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    kjjjjh

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    cool, excellent, muy buena

    Posted 08/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Here is a very interesting planetarium software, very complete and accurate that will please to both the novice and the advanced amateur astronomer. I appreciate in particular the additional database of stars and DSO, the view at the eyepiece and the TLE of satellites. At this price, we cannot find a better product ! However, some details can be improved like the look of galaxies and the moon at the eypiece.

    Posted 08/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is not just amazing, it's inspiring! It not only let's me explore the night sky, even if it's rainy outside or to find and object when I do go out, but to plan my night's tour and if I choose, control my telescope in the process. It's accurate and a pleasure to look at and use! The most unbelievable part is - IT'S FREE. I sincerely mean it when I say: You cant get better then that!! Thank you so much, Remo Carbetta Mansfield, Ohio

    Posted 07/28/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks