OpenSSH for Windows Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
6
1
2
0
15
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It destroys PATH variable.

    Posted 08/27/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ERMAHGERD! Installing this package overwrites the PATH variable in Windows...! Anyone who knows enough about command line use to install OpenSSH on a Windows machine really SHOULD know enough about the PATH variable to adjust for this problem. I admit that I didn't read the reviews first, and found myself in the same boat. Easy fix, though, as I've had to play with the PATH in Windows in the past, and Google can quickly tell me what it should be if I forget. The simplest solution is to copy the current PATH, install the program, then add the original PATH back in using a simple ; between the two entries. Problem solved. My Windows PATH looks like this, now: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin;C:\WINDOWS\System32 Now I can continue to use my Windows command line like I did before, but I can also use OpenSSH with equal ease, and I'm very thankful, as I can now access my Linux server(s) from my work computer, which has to be Windows (I would rather have Linux, but...) Need other things added to the PATH variable? Remember to use the ; between entries. If this is too difficult, install WinSCP instead.You'll still have to know how to use the command line, but it doesn't mess with the PATH variable.

    Posted 05/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES INSTALL THIS ON WINDOWS 10 YOUR PATH VARIABLE WILL BE WIPED That being said, if you did accidentally install it, DO NOT REBOOT and download Process Explorer. Go through the properties of processes until you find one that holds the original PATH variable in its environment and copy/paste it over your current Path variable. To the author of this project, since it comes up in Google search results and is highly malicious to just install. TAKE SOME RESPONSIBILITY AND TAKE DOWN THE PROJECT

    Posted 05/09/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't install it on Windows 10 as others have said. Use process explorer from sysinternals to retrieve your deleted path variable as long as you haven't rebooted. Check properties until you find a process with the path environmental variable with the original values and use copy/paste to retrieve the original.

    Posted 03/04/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It wiped my system PATH windows 10. No way to restore. Huge bug, don't use.

    Posted 12/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cleared my System path (win10)

    Posted 03/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it doesn't work on windows 8.1 Log Name: Application Source: Application Error Date: 2/16/2015 2:58:27 AM Event ID: 1000 Task Category: (100) Level: Error Keywords: Classic User: N/A Computer: Description: Faulting application name: cygrunsrv.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x40826252 Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.3.9600.17630, time stamp: 0x54b0d74f Exception code: 0xc0000005 Fault offset: 0x000413b2 Faulting process id: 0xd04 Faulting application start time: 0x01d04983ac657d81 Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin\cygrunsrv.exe Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll Report Id: ea15fff1-b576-11e4-826a-08002700e4c5 Faulting package full name: Faulting package-relative application ID: Event Xml: <Data>cygrunsrv.exe</Data> <Data>0.0.0.0</Data> <Data>40826252</Data> <Data>ntdll.dll</Data> <Data>6.3.9600.17630</Data> <Data>54b0d74f</Data> <Data>c0000005</Data> <Data>000413b2</Data> <Data>d04</Data> <Data>01d04983ac657d81</Data> <Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin\cygrunsrv.exe</Data> <Data>C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll</Data>

    Posted 02/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is over two years out of date. If you must use Windows, you should really download the version hosted at MLS Software. Google it, URLs are prohibited in reviews. It's up to date and will save you a lot of headaches.

    Posted 09/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project worked very well for me, and installation went fine. ASIDE from the fact it deleted my path variables. I worked around this by system restoring, saving my path variables somewhere then undoing the restore. Finally appending openSSH's path to my path variables.

    Posted 08/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a terrible and outdated project, it should be deleted.

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When I installed it on my Windows 8 system it replaced my path instead of appending to it!!

    Posted 03/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pleased and relieved to report that installation of the client only did not hose the PATH variable on windoze 7. YMMV

    Posted 02/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Per other comments, be sure to remember to backup your PATH variable first!

    Posted 01/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It ruins the system path on Windows 7. After install only C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin is in system path.

    Posted 12/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its really awnsome, but if you are having problems on Windows 8(it tells you that some command doesn't exists) do this: 1. go to C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenSSH\bin 2. copy all the files inside 3. paste them in C:\Windows 4. paste them in C:\Windows\System32 5. done! Now just test it and it should work.

    Posted 09/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Windows 8 Pro ... Overwrites your entire system path with only it's own entry on install (user path stays in tact). SSH functionality works just fine though there's not much point--text editors don't work well in powershell.

    Posted 08/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On Windows7 64bit it just KILLED my PATH system variable!!!!!! Damn that pRoGrAm!!!!!!

    Posted 07/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is OpenSSH 3.8p1, which is *almost 10 years old*, massively out of date and missing numerous security and encryption enhancements. There are much cleaner ways to run OpenSSH on Windows, such as using the built-in CygWin SSH daemon capability from a recent CygWin. But this out of date code and binary should *definitely* be archived, and no longer published.

    Posted 01/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello everyone, Can anyone help me to install the openssh server in windows 7 and make it listen ssh client request. Thanks&Regards Mukesh

    Posted 06/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please fix the PATH issue!

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I believe I don't use this to its full potential. But I use it to upload project web content to sourceforge.net, and for that OpenSSH works great!

    Posted 05/22/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/15/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is incredibly useful; it saves quite a bit of time when one can simply ssh into a machine, rather than have to use email or physical media, and I wasn't able to find any other ssh projects for windows. Overall, an excellent program.

    Posted 01/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for wiping my PATH using the installer.

    Posted 12/29/2010

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks