SQuirreL SQL Client Icon

A Java SQL client for any JDBC compliant database

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
93
2
1
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    is ok

    Posted 06/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very nice multi-database SQL client.

    Posted 05/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very useful database tool. Especially if you use java you can monitor performances of your jdbc driver.

    Posted 05/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect

    Posted 05/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Squirrel is amazing, If I could ask only 2 things would make it almost perfect.... 1) Run All button - option to remove this new Lethal button It's next to the run single statement, if like me you tend to have a file with Lots of statements in, then this button is lethal and its position could not be worse. 2) Explain plans for DB2 Maybe I've missed something for Squirrel, so I have to run plans from the command line. The text/graph output at the end of this statement would be really useful, Squirrel has these bits of information, so can it be integrated somehow?... db2expln -d {database} -u {user} {password} -f {file.sql} -t -z ";" -graph

    Posted 05/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best one! Simple and direct! No one beated this one since first time I used it. It lacks only a few features, which could be added in the future. It highly recommended.

    Posted 02/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best SQL client I've used. Works with any database I've tried using jdbc drivers. Great features for copying schemas, data etc between databases. Able to create and test dynamic procedures for Oracle nicely etc. Everywhere I've shown developers this tool, they've dropped TOAD.

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful tool to access any database and test experimental JDBC drivers.

    Posted 01/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this for connecting to Informix and MySQL. It's feature rich, reliable, and performs very well.

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice app :)

    Posted 11/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't say enough good things about this client. I develop on MS-SQL and Oracle, and also Derby just for testing, and this is my one and only SQL Client. Don't even bother to install vendor tools any longer. Customization, options, L&F, code completion, syntax highlighting, &etc... are great, can run any query, pl/sql, T-SQL, etc with no issues. Exporting/importing data/results also very easy. Another benefit - backup app dir and .squirrel-sql dir and you can a) use this from a thumb drive, or b) move to another computer in seconds. Came in handy when a drive failed and I needed to use backup laptop for a while - all config/settings stayed as I moved app.

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    From all sql clients (both free and paid) this one has fastest autocomplete during writing queries. With some schema configuration it is unstoppable for quick writing sql's and store results in excel/csv files (for report purposes)

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used this on my Oracle DB using a Macbook Pro. A few things worthy to mention: * It does not run PL/SQL code in the worksheet, it can only run queries. * Does not feel professional, loses overview a lot because digging deeper in objects creates boxes with padding around it. * Last and certainly not least.... WHAT THE HELL were you guys drinking when writing the app???? It creates the following FUNCTION in my schema: SQUIRREL_GET_ERROR_OFFSET . What SQL client has the nerve to create objects in a schema without warning???? No popup, the DBA just starts asking what it is... how unprofessional can you be??? This app will never be used by me, my team or anyone that ever crosses my path in the future. Go back to the basics and start learning how to write software, hire an architect, team lead, heck just replace the whole development team. This is unthinkable, this can't be used in a professional environment.

    Posted 05/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice and light weight.

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately the issues with 3.5.2 are numerous. For starters, the windows installer attempts to install into C:\Program Files(x86) but runs without administator privs. Once that issue was resolved, I had to edit the .bat launcher to specify my javaw.exe location as the launcher couldn't locate. After finally starting the program, none of the default drivers showed up and I had to manually start adding jdbc drivers to the class path and restart. Many times during this process the application would hang and have to be killed and restarted. Unfortunately completely useless.

    Posted 03/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Me encanta.... es muy bueno.

    Posted 02/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's hard to believe this is open source project. It has professional grade. Congratulations.

    Posted 11/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't live without it no more. One of the first tools I install on a new development machine.

    Posted 09/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good SQL tool, works well. The graph sql query constructor looks interesting.

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SQuirreL SQL is an excellent, reliable tool, handles the PostgreSQL and DB2 databases well. Easy interface with good security. Initial load time of a schema may be time consuming, depending on the number of definitions included - worth the wait. I have used SQuirreL for a number of years in diverse environments (Linux, Windows, even AS/400). Very satisfactory.

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!

    Posted 05/15/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks