SMPlayer Icon

Free media player with support for Youtube

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
102
5
2
1
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Every day becomig more perfect.

    Posted 10/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good small vide player

    Posted 09/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A lifesafer for old computer (2010 or so...) :)

    Posted 07/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muy bueno. Trae un montón de códecs incorporados. Leyó sin problemas alguna película algo problemática para reproducir. Se sigue actualizando regularmente. Buen trabajo!.

    Posted 07/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best movie player for Linux currently in existence. If you loved the old BSPlayer on Windows, and don’t want to miss out on anything, without feeling cluttered, this is what you want. Far better than VLC, which always had its problems, apart from being quite ugly.

    Posted 04/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice software

    Posted 02/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seriously what an amazing player. I have been having a issue for a while where my VLC player used up to 50/60% of my CPU and was very laggy and also causing my CPU to run at high tempratures, so I looked for another player and found SM, now the same videos that used 50/60% only use 15/20% CPU... Amazing thanks, used VLC for years and it just got replaced.

    Posted 12/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've had SMPlayer for a while now, and I can honestly say this is the best media player ever! I think it's great because it plays about all the kind of formats and keeps bookmarks of what i watched last. Would never again try another kind of media player!

    Posted 10/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Useful player... and easy to handle... 39 Printing Flushing 39printing.com

    Posted 08/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Job!!

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent player

    Posted 04/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best player for linux... period.

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    La mejor GUI de Mplayer y el mejor reproductor también

    Posted 02/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It comes bundled with adware.. But they offer a version free of the adware, that noobs will most likely not find hahaha.. Great program!!! very easy on resources, love the youtube browser, and can drag and drop internet radio playlists into it and set it as the default handler for those, supports hundreds of file extensions with no need for third party codecs. very awesome!

    Posted 11/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I install smplayer for windows from fosshub.com

    Posted 10/29/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome!!!

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Player fast and easy to use

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a player which is fast, consumes least resources, has the best customisation options, earlier user of KMplayer and vlc player i found it best of all. Its the best video player in the market.

    Posted 09/29/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Notice that the antivirus warnings refer to the SOURCEFORGE WRAPPER. The smplayer installer is completely clean and safe. You can skip the sourceforge wrapper and download the original smplayer installer by clicking in the "direct download" link above.

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! Do not use the installer comes with the "Download" button !! Do as RVM said or you will get malicious software ..

    Posted 08/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please include Khmer Language in SMPlayer. I want to use it in my language.

    Posted 07/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Discovered SMPlayer this week. Better than Totem. I'd like to see a professional version of the time display, showing the frames.

    Posted 06/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this player so much in Linux that I'm now using it on VLC. Highly underrated, and I feel that it's simpler, clearer, and more streamlined than VLC, and it also lets you remap the mouse controls so you can left-click to play and pause, which you still can't do on VLC.

    Posted 06/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Primary Linux video player for me

    Posted 06/14/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks