SMPlayer Icon

Free media player with support for Youtube

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
103
5
3
2
13
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great player, easy and soft. Run very well in my old Dual Core AMD E350 1,6 Ghz and 4 Gb Ram Notebook 10" . Thank you very much

    Posted 07/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bazaar Irony – No Basic Usability – More Playlist BS............ Please imagine if you will, You have a directory (folder) with say 10 video files of your vacation, or outing, or the first season of Whatever TV show. No one has such a folder, right (that is sarcasm)? And of course no one would want to just double click the first file in this folder and then use arrow or page keys to go from one file to the next in this folder -- THAT IS ALSO SARCASM. Sorry, but the bazaar irony – of this most basic usability – being absent from ANY video player just boggles my mind. SMPlayer creators bother to include the latest advance features, yet what of this MOST BASIC of the basic functions / MOST BASIC USABILITY. The most general of the general tab should have an option to SIMPLY move from one file to the next within ANY folder. ########### ACTUALLY, this should be the DEFAULT behavior of ANY video player – that no one would need to even consider as an option.########### And the most general of the general tab – or the file types tab – should have the option to make SMPlayer the default video player. To FORCE people to MESS around with the huge MESS of playlists – just to do something as simple as play / scroll through the files within a folder – is absolutely ridiculous.

    Posted 05/25/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As opposed to searching, I got this accordinged to the assessments as well as couldn’t be better. That is actually beautifully made and definitely does hold this’s form. order pizza online, order pizza online dominos, order pizza online from pizza hut, order pizza online near me, order pizza online from domino's, order pizza online india, order pizza online hyderabad, order pizza online delhi. oimaa.net

    Posted 05/24/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Make this player good looking, that's where once kmplayer excelled. Discreet and good looking icons etc.... please

    Posted 05/18/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best movie player for Linux!

    Posted 02/04/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Every day becomig more perfect.

    Posted 10/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good small vide player

    Posted 09/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A lifesafer for old computer (2010 or so...) :)

    Posted 07/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muy bueno. Trae un montón de códecs incorporados. Leyó sin problemas alguna película algo problemática para reproducir. Se sigue actualizando regularmente. Buen trabajo!.

    Posted 07/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've Download. Very Nice Brother.

    Posted 06/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best movie player for Linux currently in existence. If you loved the old BSPlayer on Windows, and don’t want to miss out on anything, without feeling cluttered, this is what you want. Far better than VLC, which always had its problems, apart from being quite ugly.

    Posted 04/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    all that compiling and it doesn't fly. this thing is not ready for general consumption. i was hoping for something that would allow youtube video download and subsequent viewing so i could keep using an old dell d420. this appears to more than i bargained for.

    Posted 02/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice software

    Posted 02/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    well.. very disappointing... i added 2/more folder/album to the playlist.. clicked the playlist column (sort by name), and then what? your palylist mess..!!! i hope the next release will have option to sort by folder/directory..

    Posted 12/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This was an OK player for me for the last 6 or 7 years. VLC player was the last player before Smplayer. Perhaps, I need to try a different video player. Con -Having to press the spacebar five times to get it to pause a video. I made a post on their bug-tracking page. Pros -lightweight -decent options

    Posted 12/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seriously what an amazing player. I have been having a issue for a while where my VLC player used up to 50/60% of my CPU and was very laggy and also causing my CPU to run at high tempratures, so I looked for another player and found SM, now the same videos that used 50/60% only use 15/20% CPU... Amazing thanks, used VLC for years and it just got replaced.

    Posted 12/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've had SMPlayer for a while now, and I can honestly say this is the best media player ever! I think it's great because it plays about all the kind of formats and keeps bookmarks of what i watched last. Would never again try another kind of media player!

    Posted 10/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Useful player... and easy to handle... 39 Printing Flushing 39printing.com

    Posted 08/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Along with VLC Media Player, easily the most powerful video player GUI for Linux.

    Posted 06/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Job!!

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent player

    Posted 04/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best player for linux... period.

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    La mejor GUI de Mplayer y el mejor reproductor también

    Posted 02/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is packed to the gills with malware browser jackers that installed even after I told them not to. Now spending hours cleaning them off my PC. Personally I think people that develop and package such crud should be prosecuted but sadly the laws dont exist... yet. So download and install at your own risk. You have been warned. To the developers. SHAME ON YOU!

    Posted 01/07/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks