7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
682
12
7
3
24
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use unpacker. The best unarchiver after legendary WinRAR.

    Posted 03/14/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like 7-zip a lot, but here's a feature request: I just zipped a big folder, and the process used up 98% of my dual-quad-core CPU time, bringing the rest of my laptop to a screeching halt. I don't see any way of throttling the process, so that would be helpful. Thanks!

    Posted 02/20/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everything is great. But the user interface could use some improvements.

    Posted 02/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this program for a long time and greatly appreciate its new ability to handle symbolic links in Windows as I often use them and wish to back up my files to servers in other countries which means I want to compress them first. 7-Zip also seems to compress and decompress much faster than before which is helpful when you are compressing 45,000 files at once! (I think the fact that it doesn't list every one of these files as it compresses them is the big help. It just lists some of them, something like one file per second is listed.)

    Posted 02/08/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good, i satisfied.....

    Posted 02/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Kuwait'''LondOn''Usa//+91 9878162323 // love v-a-s-h-i-k-a-r-a-n ..

    Posted 02/02/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy ,very fast

    Posted 01/29/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My##((lOvEr))##+91-9878162323 Black magic specialist in Bikaner ..

    Posted 01/27/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Some basic knowledge of computing is required to use this program, but people who know what compression is and even consider using it, have much more than a basic knowledge, making this program great to use. Support is fast and informative. Design is seamless and it works well; both efficiency and fantastic at compression.

    Posted 01/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awsome

    Posted 12/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This kind of software is what makes Archives fun!

    Posted 12/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best tools out there especially in terms of speed/performance

    Posted 12/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After so many years it's hard to believe such a great project still misses basic features such as: - Adding objects to subfolders of an archive (Now it always adds them to the root folder of the archive) - Editing files directly on the archive without the need of extracting. (E.g.: Without ever extracting - Open archive, open a text file that exists in that archive, add a word, save and close the text file, having it updated on the archive without doing anything else) I was going to create a feature request, but since i can't i wrote a review! Sorry for such a low rate, but this are basic features to me........

    Posted 12/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Speed. Good Performance!!

    Posted 12/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent archive tool

    Posted 11/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Far from being unusual, the information blackout, I mean + my question is so pertinent the more I scratched around looking for an answer the more I realized how it was just being avoided, certainly in a couple of tutorials I looked at which I'd hoped would spill the beans but didn't give what I wanted to know away. Anyway, you compress a file, size obviously being a concern, yet once it's 'zipped' how you find out it's new, + hopefully smaller, size I still couldn't tell you, which frankly, is ridiculous. I'm sure you can find out the size once it's been compressed, it's such a clearly necessary + relevant piece of information it's surprising it should be such a mystery, what isn't, is my inability to find a source where I might find an answer, information is very often hard to find in the field of 'Information Technology', I'd say, maybe I just look in the wrong places????

    Posted 11/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfectly and all systems i have tested so far (Windows Vista - Windows 10) Good compression and excellent windows integration Virus total report ( 9bb4dc4fab2a2a45c15723c259dc2f7313c89a5ac55ab7c3f76bba26edc8bcaa ) 0/56 (that is 0 of 56 virusscanners detects virus)

    Posted 11/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent. Period.

    Posted 11/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice!!

    Posted 10/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So nice tool! Thanks a lot for this Merveille and for a so long time!

    Posted 10/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable, easy to use and can't identify anything I would like to add (as a function) - WIN 10 Pro 64 bit

    Posted 09/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great! Use * www.passwordcracker.me * to open password protected files

    Posted 08/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What can be said more than this is de facto standard in UNIX/Linux compression toolset

    Posted 07/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it! So many different supported file types! Great for making 7z and rar files and hacking into Minecraft.jar! Maybe update some icons but besides that, all good!

    Posted 07/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent 7z archive format, best archiver & premium support of all major archives extraction, gui & command line would be lost without it, thank you Igor Pavlov!

    Posted 07/03/2016
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks