× Help save net neutrality! Learn more.
7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
695
15
9
3
24
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My##((lOvEr))##+91-9878162323 Black magic specialist in Bikaner ..

    Posted 01/27/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Some basic knowledge of computing is required to use this program, but people who know what compression is and even consider using it, have much more than a basic knowledge, making this program great to use. Support is fast and informative. Design is seamless and it works well; both efficiency and fantastic at compression.

    Posted 01/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awsome

    Posted 12/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This kind of software is what makes Archives fun!

    Posted 12/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best tools out there especially in terms of speed/performance

    Posted 12/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After so many years it's hard to believe such a great project still misses basic features such as: - Adding objects to subfolders of an archive (Now it always adds them to the root folder of the archive) - Editing files directly on the archive without the need of extracting. (E.g.: Without ever extracting - Open archive, open a text file that exists in that archive, add a word, save and close the text file, having it updated on the archive without doing anything else) I was going to create a feature request, but since i can't i wrote a review! Sorry for such a low rate, but this are basic features to me........

    Posted 12/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Speed. Good Performance!!

    Posted 12/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent archive tool

    Posted 11/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Far from being unusual, the information blackout, I mean + my question is so pertinent the more I scratched around looking for an answer the more I realized how it was just being avoided, certainly in a couple of tutorials I looked at which I'd hoped would spill the beans but didn't give what I wanted to know away. Anyway, you compress a file, size obviously being a concern, yet once it's 'zipped' how you find out it's new, + hopefully smaller, size I still couldn't tell you, which frankly, is ridiculous. I'm sure you can find out the size once it's been compressed, it's such a clearly necessary + relevant piece of information it's surprising it should be such a mystery, what isn't, is my inability to find a source where I might find an answer, information is very often hard to find in the field of 'Information Technology', I'd say, maybe I just look in the wrong places????

    Posted 11/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfectly and all systems i have tested so far (Windows Vista - Windows 10) Good compression and excellent windows integration Virus total report ( 9bb4dc4fab2a2a45c15723c259dc2f7313c89a5ac55ab7c3f76bba26edc8bcaa ) 0/56 (that is 0 of 56 virusscanners detects virus)

    Posted 11/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent. Period.

    Posted 11/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice!!

    Posted 10/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So nice tool! Thanks a lot for this Merveille and for a so long time!

    Posted 10/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable, easy to use and can't identify anything I would like to add (as a function) - WIN 10 Pro 64 bit

    Posted 09/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great! Use * www.passwordcracker.me * to open password protected files

    Posted 08/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What can be said more than this is de facto standard in UNIX/Linux compression toolset

    Posted 07/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it! So many different supported file types! Great for making 7z and rar files and hacking into Minecraft.jar! Maybe update some icons but besides that, all good!

    Posted 07/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent 7z archive format, best archiver & premium support of all major archives extraction, gui & command line would be lost without it, thank you Igor Pavlov!

    Posted 07/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is really amazing how powerful and easy this application operates ; )

    Posted 06/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think a bset archiving software.

    Posted 06/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks :D

    Posted 05/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is simply a must for Windows users. Decompresses pretty much everything, and is able to compress flies/directories in several formats, including (but not limited to) 7z - a very powerful compression algorithm. One of the first things you should install in a fresh Windows installation.

    Posted 05/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it very much.

    Posted 03/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was even able to extract corrupted achieves.

    Posted 03/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best things on Windows

    Posted 02/14/2016
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, Thank you