7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
689
13
8
3
24
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Still no answer to our technical question.... How can we send you a photo which explains the problem?

    Posted 07/13/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Owesome! Lightweight and Useful.

    Posted 06/23/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent compression program that's easy to use and have never had a problem with it.

    Posted 06/13/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    amazin

    Posted 06/06/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip is a gift. I use it often. Best compression software I have used, even compared to commercial software. Low resources used, uncomrpresses almost anything.

    Posted 05/23/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome tool. Everyone should have this installed. Suggestion: Maybe include file hash values on the Info/Properties screen. MD5 and SHA256 values would be nice. Powershell Get-FileHash computes these values. Nice as a check of downloaded file integrity.

    Posted 05/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome

    Posted 05/12/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best and more reliable

    Posted 05/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip is an awesome program to find and run things by. It merges Explorer and Finder. It can open nearly all folders of every type. It needs to find a way to open .text files, just as other hidden content. It would also be great to configure selected files with Notepad++. Besides that, it does awesome.

    Posted 04/21/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use unpacker. The best unarchiver after legendary WinRAR.

    Posted 03/14/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like 7-zip a lot, but here's a feature request: I just zipped a big folder, and the process used up 98% of my dual-quad-core CPU time, bringing the rest of my laptop to a screeching halt. I don't see any way of throttling the process, so that would be helpful. Thanks!

    Posted 02/20/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everything is great. But the user interface could use some improvements.

    Posted 02/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this program for a long time and greatly appreciate its new ability to handle symbolic links in Windows as I often use them and wish to back up my files to servers in other countries which means I want to compress them first. 7-Zip also seems to compress and decompress much faster than before which is helpful when you are compressing 45,000 files at once! (I think the fact that it doesn't list every one of these files as it compresses them is the big help. It just lists some of them, something like one file per second is listed.)

    Posted 02/08/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good, i satisfied.....

    Posted 02/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Kuwait'''LondOn''Usa//+91 9878162323 // love v-a-s-h-i-k-a-r-a-n ..

    Posted 02/02/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy ,very fast

    Posted 01/29/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My##((lOvEr))##+91-9878162323 Black magic specialist in Bikaner ..

    Posted 01/27/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Some basic knowledge of computing is required to use this program, but people who know what compression is and even consider using it, have much more than a basic knowledge, making this program great to use. Support is fast and informative. Design is seamless and it works well; both efficiency and fantastic at compression.

    Posted 01/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awsome

    Posted 12/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This kind of software is what makes Archives fun!

    Posted 12/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best tools out there especially in terms of speed/performance

    Posted 12/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After so many years it's hard to believe such a great project still misses basic features such as: - Adding objects to subfolders of an archive (Now it always adds them to the root folder of the archive) - Editing files directly on the archive without the need of extracting. (E.g.: Without ever extracting - Open archive, open a text file that exists in that archive, add a word, save and close the text file, having it updated on the archive without doing anything else) I was going to create a feature request, but since i can't i wrote a review! Sorry for such a low rate, but this are basic features to me........

    Posted 12/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Speed. Good Performance!!

    Posted 12/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent archive tool

    Posted 11/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Far from being unusual, the information blackout, I mean + my question is so pertinent the more I scratched around looking for an answer the more I realized how it was just being avoided, certainly in a couple of tutorials I looked at which I'd hoped would spill the beans but didn't give what I wanted to know away. Anyway, you compress a file, size obviously being a concern, yet once it's 'zipped' how you find out it's new, + hopefully smaller, size I still couldn't tell you, which frankly, is ridiculous. I'm sure you can find out the size once it's been compressed, it's such a clearly necessary + relevant piece of information it's surprising it should be such a mystery, what isn't, is my inability to find a source where I might find an answer, information is very often hard to find in the field of 'Information Technology', I'd say, maybe I just look in the wrong places????

    Posted 11/14/2016
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks