7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
659
11
6
2
24
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • hawktroy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best things on Windows

    Posted 02/14/2016
  • pepper-jack
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BEST SOFTWARE EVER!!!! THANK YOU PAVLOV!!!!!! Your softwares file manager was the only thing that allowed me t keep my sanity when my computer BSOD'd (because I was able to get into recovery mode and use your software from there), so I really can't put into words how much i'm thank you for your amazing software!!

    Posted 02/02/2016
  • idolwszutrab7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it!

    Posted 01/15/2016
  • bibi83
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable operation is the strength. Excellent newest tiny install.

    Posted 01/02/2016
  • nikoszalupa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    THIS FUCKING BITCH CONTAINS THIS--------> Trojan.Lethic.Win32

    Posted 12/26/2015
  • jendrej
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's awesome! Way better than that stupid WinRAR that wants you to pay for it! However, the icons are ugly. Especially the file icons, compared to Windows 7 ones.

    Posted 12/13/2015
  • jcag
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's the best !

    Posted 12/08/2015
  • dapa1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best helper ever

    Posted 10/25/2015
  • dmartin2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning: October 2015 :: this install frigs with your browser home page and other things. Without asking.

    Posted 10/07/2015
  • sonnenhexer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great!

    Posted 10/02/2015
  • thang04
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Must have tool!

    Posted 08/30/2015
  • jackyp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip is absolute UNIQUE to transfer high level-pictures ore texts! -> Very superior!!! jagg

    Posted 08/28/2015
  • stories
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Efficient archiver, which is functional on old systems such as Windows 2000, its memory requirements are only determined by the chosen dictionary size. Unlike other freeware tools, 7-Zip can be legally used at work without a license. Unique support for non-archive compressed formats, such as NSIS installers, and WIM from Windows DVDs. i downloaded it last week while i was working on my webpage@www.fixithere.net/sky-contact-number/ when i stubled upon this, easy and good Excellent Software. I've been using it for years, an elegant solution to all my compression/decompression needs. It's well maintained and has a fairly comprehensive range of supported algorithms and options. I've yet to find need for any other applications

    Posted 08/26/2015
  • yigido
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best archiver software on the world!

    Posted 08/25/2015
  • maternysik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best free program ever!

    Posted 08/21/2015
  • reineiry
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Free, Powerful, Easy, One word: Amazing

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • tricky75
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm a huge fan of 7z. Good compression ratio and easy to use. One bummer is though, the poor mac support, or rather the lack thereof. I could get my hands on the command line version for mac, but it's compiled by somebody else, so is it outdated or not? (Another bummer is that I need an .so file on Mac. When called with full pathname, that .so works. For my own easy I placed 7z in a path dir, but that did not work the way it should. It can then not find the path any more). Not much of a problem for a command line user like me (since archiving on Mac through the GUI has never been worked out the way it should, no matter which archiver you have) :)

    Posted 07/18/2015
  • joelchamberlain
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using it for years, an elegant solution to all my compression/decompression needs. It's well maintained and has a fairly comprehensive range of supported algorithms and options. I've yet to find need for any other applications.

    Posted 07/14/2015
  • william079516
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good. Simply the best!

    Posted 06/30/2015
  • jornan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best!!

    Posted 06/27/2015
  • namtrac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely rocks.

    Posted 06/25/2015
  • z-not
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well, we all know that 7-Zip is very good archiver, but in only one aspect: the compression ratio. And sadly, in all other aspects it is pretty crappy tool... What am I talking about? All my negative impression comes from that ridiculously minimalistic GUI design and all its limited functions. Damn, this archiver is really old already but it still doesn't have even half of the functions of WinRAR. WinRAR is superior in everything what touches usability, but 7-Zip looks like an pre-alpha tool. And there is no excuse, that 7-Zip is completely free, but it simply shows author's attitude to his creation. This is very very bad, if you ask me, actually, this is just horrible... And laughable.

    Posted 06/21/2015
  • vijayvelu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb zip explorer

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • chimbal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Отличный архиватор, про другие архиваторы давно забыл уже.

    Posted 06/07/2015
  • j7nj7n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Efficient archiver, which is functional on old systems such as Windows 2000, its memory requirements are only determined by the chosen dictionary size. Unlike other freeware tools, 7-Zip can be legally used at work without a license. Unique support for non-archive compressed formats, such as NSIS installers, and WIM from Windows DVDs. The user interface is a bit plain compared to competition like WinRar, but remains responsive even while the back end is performing maxium compression with large buffers. The format allows to configure a solid block size of variable length as tradeoff between solid and non-solid archives, to maintain reasonable random access and recovery from errors. Unlike WinRar, which added the capability only with version 5, the program works flawlessly with Unicode filenames and a large number of files per archive. 7-zip has only a rudimentary support for split volumes.

    Posted 06/04/2015
Show next 25 reviews