7-Zip Icon

A free file archiver for extremely high compression

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
695
15
9
3
24
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    waiting for stable relese of v.17 ...seriously ...i wan't it... i need it...

    Posted 11/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is just excellent and it's free. It's compatible with most of the O.S. It's flexible, I love it.

    Posted 11/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Standard

    Posted 10/20/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good option to winzip and winrar

    Posted 09/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great.

    Posted 09/14/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dope

    Posted 09/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Always loved 7zip, but this update does exactly what?

    Posted 08/29/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very efficient and effective tool for creating and extracting archives (zip). It is very easy to use through simple UI and context menu options (right-click menu). Though the UI is not as colorful or explanatory as some archiving programs, its speed (near instant start up and archiving) and ease of use well makes up for that. This is definitely the best archiving program around! The only disadvantage of 7zip (and why i do not give it 5 stars) is that (as of v 9.2.0) if you modify an archived file and are not in the same directory as the file (when you save it) the program crashes (and you loose the modifications you made to the file, which has cost me some time). Also if you delete files in 7zip they do not go to the trash but are deleted permanently. But these two are both very rarely problematic and so i highly recommend this program.

    Posted 08/23/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best replacement for winrar / winzip. Great working on several windows versions.

    Posted 07/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Still no answer to our technical question.... How can we send you a photo which explains the problem?

    Posted 07/13/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Owesome! Lightweight and Useful.

    Posted 06/23/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent compression program that's easy to use and have never had a problem with it.

    Posted 06/13/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    amazin

    Posted 06/06/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip is a gift. I use it often. Best compression software I have used, even compared to commercial software. Low resources used, uncomrpresses almost anything.

    Posted 05/23/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome tool. Everyone should have this installed. Suggestion: Maybe include file hash values on the Info/Properties screen. MD5 and SHA256 values would be nice. Powershell Get-FileHash computes these values. Nice as a check of downloaded file integrity.

    Posted 05/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome

    Posted 05/12/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best and more reliable

    Posted 05/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7-Zip is an awesome program to find and run things by. It merges Explorer and Finder. It can open nearly all folders of every type. It needs to find a way to open .text files, just as other hidden content. It would also be great to configure selected files with Notepad++. Besides that, it does awesome.

    Posted 04/21/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use unpacker. The best unarchiver after legendary WinRAR.

    Posted 03/14/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like 7-zip a lot, but here's a feature request: I just zipped a big folder, and the process used up 98% of my dual-quad-core CPU time, bringing the rest of my laptop to a screeching halt. I don't see any way of throttling the process, so that would be helpful. Thanks!

    Posted 02/20/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everything is great. But the user interface could use some improvements.

    Posted 02/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using this program for a long time and greatly appreciate its new ability to handle symbolic links in Windows as I often use them and wish to back up my files to servers in other countries which means I want to compress them first. 7-Zip also seems to compress and decompress much faster than before which is helpful when you are compressing 45,000 files at once! (I think the fact that it doesn't list every one of these files as it compresses them is the big help. It just lists some of them, something like one file per second is listed.)

    Posted 02/08/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good, i satisfied.....

    Posted 02/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Kuwait'''LondOn''Usa//+91 9878162323 // love v-a-s-h-i-k-a-r-a-n ..

    Posted 02/02/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy ,very fast

    Posted 01/29/2017
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks