SAGA GIS Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
41
1
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • felherc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been working with SAGA for a while. It is powerful, straightforward, and fast. I also created a couple of custom modules and, while there are some problems, it was doable. While using the GUI is easy, dealing with the API is not as smooth: there are no good tutorials to get started (the one in the "A Gentle Introduction to SAGA GIS" misses some important aspects and is a bit outdated). I was working with version 2.1.2, but the documentation available was for a different incompatible version, and I didn't get any help at the forum. Also, sorting out which libraries and compilers are ok with which version of the GUI can be a pain, and it is hard to find out why a custom library does not load at a given point. I also wish that you could easily work with a free IDE like Qt or Eclipse; instead, you have to develop your modules on Visual Studio. I also wish that the documentation in the modules was better: you cannot know what a module or some of their parameters do many times. All this said, I really appreciate SAGA GIS and I wanted really hard to develop my project as a series of modules on this platform. However, it seems that the availability of temporal 2D/3D data management in GRASS GIS will make us move towards that other package. If only they included this data type in the core...

    Posted 10/29/2015
  • greg-king
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SAGA is a great package for environmental modelling and raster based work. Great functionality and fast processing times.

    Posted 08/20/2015
  • evahh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program and fast help on the forum

    Posted 09/18/2014
  • spatialjoe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using SAGA GIS for working on raster data of all kind but mainly dealing with ALS data I am very fond of its quick, reliable and accurate processing capabilities. GUI also keeps improving steadily! I like it!

    Posted 07/12/2013
  • anitahulsey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice, thank you

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • nathanfernandez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff.

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • propertyspeed10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice geography software

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • eliperkins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    deseo bajar saga-gis gratis

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • blakenelson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Runs smoothly

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • loganwalker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • joshuaroberts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    saga-gis is fast and easy to use

    Posted 11/14/2012
  • glucym
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, simple and easy to install.

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • bonnbee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works. It supports pretty much everything you can think of. It doesn't crash in the hands of a casual user.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • bestelectricsh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works. It supports pretty much everything you can think of. It doesn't crash in the hands of a casual user.

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • hhkhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using SAGA for over 6 years and I found it very useful in all kind of raster and vector based GIS work. SAGA has very strong grid and terrain processing capabilities. It has some simulation tools, too. SAGA can import export a range of file formats. It is easy to use and small in size. But, SAGA's presentation of output maps needs improvement. Scale bar, coordinate ticks and grid, north arrow, are some of the things missing in output. Some of the modules have bugs that, I hope, will be fixed soon.

    Posted 10/01/2012
  • camhanson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    deseo bajar saga-gis gratis

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • surehybreter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have only the best experience with this application. I has helped me a lot lately!

    Posted 08/11/2012
  • karl0s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Has been a favorite. Helpful application

    Posted 08/08/2012
  • ashley546
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good program

    Posted 07/08/2012
Show next 17 reviews