rEFInd Icon

beta

An EFI boot manager utility

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
25
2
0
1
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does exactly what it claims to.

    Posted 12/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best utility for macbook pro mid 2009

    Posted 05/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Could be better. Needs design improvements, but hey, it can be hard to make working OS finders. An installer would be nice. Some glitches here and there, but it is still a beta. Doesn't load Ubuntu.

    Posted 05/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Running Windows 10 64-bit, Did not recognize EFI boot, Was a waste of my time.

    Posted 04/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    'rEFInd found on Superb Owl Sunday'. Leo Laporte has a radio call-in show on Premier network. To hear Greg's recommendation of rEFInd from Leo's Feb 7, 2016 show just visit techguylabs dot com and see hour three caller number six.

    Posted 02/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beats Grub2 hands down. If I could get rid of Grub and just use rEFInd that would be ideal. But you can achieve this by just booting the Linux kernel directly in rEFInd and you never see the Grub menu at all. Excellent!

    Posted 01/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is the perfect utility for macs (and new windows)

    Posted 12/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How to install rEFInd at windows 8? Thank you very much

    Posted 11/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finally i can select to boot windows 8.1 or ubuntu 14.04 on my Asus U38n!

    Posted 09/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull and easy to install

    Posted 08/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a great boot manager! Easy to use, customizable, and powerful. Much preferred over GRUB...

    Posted 05/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Saved me when I went astray doing a kernel update.

    Posted 02/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just a great tool.

    Posted 01/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfectly, worked like a charm. Now I can boot linux mint 17.1 on my late 2010 iMac.

    Posted 01/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It does not take over the system or boot manager, but it can be overridden by the standard methods of specifying the hard drive through the System Preferences of the current operating system, and its functionality is localized to the hard drive partition on which it is installed. If you install it on every partition that has a Mac operating system, then you are pretty well situated. However, you would really only need to install it on the partition with the lowest ID (or perhaps in the future, this will be the partition that loads the fastest) which would be the one recognized as the primary partition and operating system. Anyway, keep the installation shell executable and its folder somewhere obvious like at "/" on the partitions where you want to use it, and just run the .sh installation file every time you need to re-apply it as your boot manager on that drive. I would suggest that in the future, the EFI Manager uses a different name for itself, so that the standard Mac OS boot manager can list it with a name besides "EFI Boot", and I recommend including the drive name there, like if the name of your drive were "My HD 1", then it might give itself the standard boot manager entry name, "My HD 1 (EFI Boot)". I don't know anything about the support for this product, so I gave it a "mediocre" rating for that, but the rest of it, given the current technologies, is useful in a simple way and definitely recommended by me if you plan to have more than one operating system accessible to your computer.

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This product is certainly extremely timely, with the advent of EFI boot computers in so many manufacturers recently. It works well, is easy to configure, and even has an attractive interface. I found it a pleasure to use. It's also quite well documented and the documentation is well written to be very accessible to the user.

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ubuntu 14.04 doesn't like this, and refuses to install it unless you override it. Problem seems to be with malformed author info and incomplete email contact.

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good and powerfull bootmanager :)

    Posted 05/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best boot manager ever. Maintenance free with efi stub kernel.

    Posted 01/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does the job excellently!

    Posted 12/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is very usefull for us multi-OS users!

    Posted 11/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    rEFInd is absolutely marvellous for setting up a PC to boot WIndows and one or more Linux systems! What I like most is that rEFInd is self-contained and strictly separated from the operating systems installed on the computer.

    Posted 06/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for software and updates.

    Posted 05/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just works.

    Posted 02/20/2013
Show next 4 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks