Redo Backup and Recovery Icon

User Ratings

ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and easy user interface

    Posted 10/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi. Project is super helpful. I use Redo since 5 y but... Redo need UPDATE. - Image needs update wpa_supplicant because it;s not possible to connect wifi with WPA2 password. - Disk locks up after use "Drive Reset". It's set hardware password to hd but don't know what. - Redo app need to add backup verification ex. md5, sha1.

    Posted 09/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have problems using redo on my Dell Inspiron 7000Series, I start from the usb or cd software (I downloaded the new livecd) the program seems to start but then you charge me for the ubuntu prompt without opening the GUI. How do I proceed? Thank you

    Posted 05/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect simple software. But only in english. No translations available. And keyboard layout just in english too. Additionally there could be some features like saving&restoring single partitions to different partitions or restoring backups to drives with bigger size ... But for simple backup/restore Jobs of partitions it is great.

    Posted 04/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have to say, when booting into Redo, it's really nice. You get an easy wizard to configure the backup, and while you're waiting for it to finish you can browse the net, use the file manager, etc. It looks really nice too. Unfortunately, this was last updated in 2012, and it seems that the devs have given up on it. Note what people have said below; the forums are littered with people having restoration problems and there are no solutions. Seems I'll be moving over to Clonezilla. RIP Redo.

    Posted 01/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this app is a failure... so much so that the sys-admins don't even support it.... the forums are riddled with "successful restore/recovery" that have ZERO data being written to disk... leaving an EMPTY hard drive with unknown partitions...... since the origin of this app this problem has surfaced, yet no response no help, nothing from sys-admin... app has turned out to be unsupported, and VERY VERY likely to fail at the only task it has to do --- restore your data as promised..... PASS THIS APP BY.... if you value your time, data & sanity....

    Posted 08/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What else is there to say? Not a thing! This program just simply works! And it is free! What else could a person need? Great work developers! 5 STARS!!!

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I know there are complicated backup tools available that have more features and capability; but they are difficult to learn to use. I love ReDo cause is works and it doesn't require an huge investment of time learning the idiosyncrasies of a particular backup suite. Maybe I can figure out Bacula someday, but wow the documentation is so horrible! - I'm so glad ReDo works for me for now.

    Posted 01/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is VERY easy to use, but lacks the ability to restore to smaller drives, the ability to easily restore a selected partition, and several other features. The support is pretty bad. I asked a simple question in march and they still have not answered it.

    Posted 06/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use. I've used this software on multiple OS with multiple clients without fail works every time.

    Posted 06/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried it to backup my Windows XP. It worked flawlessly. However I was disappointed to find it did not have an "Image Integrity" check to find out if the image files created would work when I needed them. AND I was not about to Restore the newly created backup image files What ReDO needs is another Ic0n Butten Called "Integrity Check" In the main Backup / Restore Menu

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Redo B&D is useful if you install a OS on your whole HD, without making extra partitions. If you have more than one partiton (which is usually the case when you have a Windows operating system or a dualboot), it's worthless. While making a backup it sees all partitions on your harddisk. But when restoring your backup it only gives you the choice to restore it on the harddisk itself, NOT on a particular partition. If you decide to continue, it destroys EVERYTHING on your harddisk, including your installed OS. I was very dissapointed when I noticed this. I tried this on version 1.0.2 and 1.0.4 (the latest version), but both versions weren't able to recognize individual partitions while trying to restore the backup. What's the use of this tool if Redo only recognizes the partitions seperately while making the backup, but if you try to restore the backtop to the partition which you made a backup of isn't recognized? I just got back to the tool which doesn't look as fancy as Redo does, but NEVER dissapointed me since I use it: Clonezilla!

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super easy and straightforward. Use it all the time. Thanks for making this happen!

    Posted 04/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't connect to Wi-Fi, only through Lan or USB. And when I use Lan connection - I need write my IP - why Redo can't just show me my network? And please - add checkbox - shutdown PC after finishing backup.

    Posted 10/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use Redo Backup & Recovery to backup my 500Mb EXT4 partkition and 74Gb LVM2 partition on my CentOS 6.4 harddisk. Redo recognized my partitions straight away. It offers the option to save to another harddisk on the system, or over the network. I selected the network and I was able to connect to my NAS over the LAN in seconds. I have to test the Restore yet, but so far, I am impressed and happy. Thanks for developing this awesome tool! My rating: 5/5!

    Posted 09/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Updated 7/31/13 Version 1.04 very straight forward and fairly quick boot bare metal (linux boot disk with GUI interface created from 255 Meg downloaded ISO) backup and restore. Couldn't browse hard disk, only browse boot cd (FileManager/Go/My Computer: Error: Operation not supported). DVD drive doesn't show up on either backup or restore (understand complexity of adding DVD support, and copying 2 gig segmented generated backup files to DVD and back to HD for restore is an acceptable compromise). Took about 22 minutes and 3.7 Gig on older hardware to backup clean XP install (with all patches) and only about 7 minutes to restore from either backup on 3rd partition or copy on usb drive. Since restore process asks only for drive, and not partition within drive, to restore to, restoring to only single partition requires backing up of only single partition (unselect others, if any, all selected by default). Would be great if default was o/s partition only since that is what a bare metal back up is best for (data partitions can easily be backed up with free synctoy, etc, from within Windows since files are typically not in use or locked). Shame no direct DVD reading even for image backups that all fit on single DVD. USB thumbdrive bootable version easy to create and very nice for portables. FREE is an exceptional deal for all of capability and simplicity. Redo WINS after trying many backup/restore apps, including Kleo (huge download, drive letters wrong on win7 backup (dangerous!), not very basic user friendly), Paragon (hate having to register to install, quite comprehensive, and wouldn't run on my oldest XP system complaining of "ancient bios"), Macrium (very nice, USB boot support, but not free for schools? and WinPE version (huge download process to build) won't load on 2 of 4 older XP systems, and Linux version is backup only and also doesn't handle? (per help) restoring to disks with resized partitions even if not the backed up partition, DriveimageXML (WinPE on paid version only?), PING (not really GUI and very slow backup), and other linux based too complicated and non-windows vocabulary (often command line). WARNING: Although backing up a single partition (o/s) with Redo and restoring to the only choice: disk (not partition) seems to work perfectly, CHANGING the partition layout, including size, will likely delete some partitions after the 1st one that is changed. Example: backed up o/s partition, resized next partition D and E, restored o/s partition backup. Now, E partition GONE, and D partition showed new size in explorer but old size in disk management. Yes, the documentation does not address restoring single partition even though single partition backup is supported, and if partition layout isn't changed, restore seems reliable. A warning is issued if restoring from E to C, but not from external USB drive? Supporting single partition restore is complicated, so, for a free product, this freeze of partition layout is acceptable, but there should be a big warning that partitions after the one restored may be damaged if partition layout modified. If there is, then it wasn't big enough I guess! <g> Thanks again for such an easy, well behaved FREE backup/restore solution that works across the windows versions and old hardware.

    Posted 07/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No, I didn't like paid software, there are some freeware can also backup all files, system, as some paid software do, why do I spend money on paid software? As for me, I used Vibosoft free data backup software for my windows 7, very easy to use and free.

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Redobackup is perfect! Thanks.

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful. Thanks.

    Posted 05/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project, thanks for giving out

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It saves my time. highly recommended

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Rare usefull and creative soft, I really enjoy it, thank you.

    Posted 05/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good basic image backup. Am able to use it to back up PCs and servers. And cans backup to another drive on the network and restore from the network. Saves having to have a spare drive. Our site has static network addresses rather than DHCP network so we needed to get the detail of each network connection from the Control panel before doing the backup and restore. We a small state government department so our budget is limited and this is just what we needed for free.

    Posted 04/30/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using it for a while now. Lots of features I will never use but backup/recovery works great for me. Found out today however that creating a bootable USB has it's problems. Awaiting fix. Thanks for Redo.

    Posted 04/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. Just bought a new laptop with GUID Partition Table and UEFI secure booting. Had to turn secure boot off in BIOS for Redo to boot, but then it worked on the new-style partition table. Redo backed up all my partitions, plus the GPT. However it didn't back up the copy of the GPT (last 33 sectors on the hard disk). So two feature requests: base it on an OS with a secure boot key; and backup the copy of the GUID Partition Table.

    Posted 04/07/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks