ReactOS Icon

alpha

A operating system based on the best Windows NT design principles

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
131
0
2
1
9
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried to use the reactOS live on VBox and it worked just fine, so I went to install it on my laptop. I downloaded the 0.4.1 bootCD and burned it. When I tried to boot from the cd, it shows up a progress bar like windows xp installation and when it completes the screen becomes black and nothing happens. Hope this will be fixed in next releases.

    Posted 06/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DL-ed and burned ISO image of 0.4.1RC2 to an USB memory stick. Booted up on a Dell Optiplex desktop , with Intel 82Q963/Q965 graphics adapter. Couple of "loading xxx.dll" messages showed up, and screen stayed black ..... This is not ready yet!

    Posted 05/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @mcwerewolf ..pressed by mistake as helpful, well he have NO idea what alpha version is. So it's like Alpha Beta Gold/Final ReactOS is at it's childhood so alpha means tons of bugs, he expected a full fledge OS without issues and why not running under NTFS? ..why peoply "reviewing" things without even know what a review is?

    Posted 02/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Although it's been an interesting project and I've long awaited the 0.4 version that made so many promises... it simply does..not..work. I've tried some very simple things, like: Try1: downloading and running Firefox 39 (from their package manager) -- Doesn't draw the window controls on the browser (minimize/maximize/close) It maybe works once, then crashes the browser first THEN locks up ROS on exiting the Mozilla crash reporter. Reboot, launch firefox, try to surf, lockup. reboot, ROS no longer starts. Reinstall ROS, try2: Get Firefox 28 this time from their package manager. Window frame looks better (standard). Go to a website or 2: only default times fonts everywhere. Downloaded something: ROS locks up. Won't boot again. Reinstall ROS, try3: grab a simple Neobook presentation. Try to run it: ROS locks up. Reinstall ROS, try4: OpenOffice 4.1 from their package manager (it's got to be OK for SOMEthing, right?) Won't install because "msiexec.exe" wants "msvcr90.dll". Did anyone even test these packages before including them?... try5: Inkscape (a gtk/ported application): takes forever to install. Try to launch it: process pins the CPU at 100% and nothing happens. Didn't work either. Conclusion: in its current state it is absolute garbage. I don't see how people can give this a high rating because it's obviously not at all working. "alpha state" is very optimistic.

    Posted 02/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love XP SP3. u give back to me... luv luv luv you

    Posted 02/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Such a fascinating project!

    Posted 01/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not bad but could use some work. Some stuff you might be able to use: github.com/andyvand/msirda github.com/andyvand/Microsoft-Windows-Ported Enjoy :D

    Posted 04/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ReactOS is totally broken garbage that doesn't work. I tried using the official ReactOS VMWare virtual machines. ReactOS crashed when I tried to put a shortcut to Firefox on my desktop. I rebooted. Then I tried to update Firefox. ReactOS crashed again. ReactOS is a cool idea, but terrible in practice. Don't waste your time with this garbage.

    Posted 04/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I look forward for the final version of this awesome OS, I really love it!

    Posted 03/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tested ReactOS0.4 RC1 .This is a very good OS.

    Posted 03/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    probado en máquina virtual muy bueno y bastante estable para no ser versión final un excelente trabajo, ojalá que más gente lo conozca y pronto tengamos una vesión final estable 100%

    Posted 03/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    У этого проекта нет будущего. Уж лучше kolibri развивать

    Posted 03/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All my votes go for this project! You guys are our only hope!

    Posted 02/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent!

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this OS!

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a fully reverse engineered version of Windows 2000 but the difference is that Windows kernel is so poweful because it has 80% of code in assembly. React OS kernel was made only in C and some C++ stuff. My suggestion is that the base of this OS should be closer to the metal for better performace and using a different compiler such as LLVM. Any way the idea is great and i hope this will be ready soon for day use.. Great Job

    Posted 11/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it is very good~Hope your group keep working for it ~

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's an amazing work. Is not functional yet, but is impressive the work done.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very good 100% open source project.

    Posted 05/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Loveable effort! Thanks for this!

    Posted 04/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good project. I used to write tutorials on Microsoft Windows professionally. I stopped writing guides on MS Windows for ethical reasons. I know the pain of OEM Microsoft Windows users. I have support for your project. Go ahead.

    Posted 02/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Today I experimented with virtual image for VirtualBox, file name ReactOS-0.3.15-REL-vbox.zip I noticed that it boots faster than WindozeXP-iE6 given away by Microsoft. With trial and error I found a way to copy files from Linux filesystem into virtual drive c: (unzip files from virtual CD d:). I am writing this because I want to report a packaging mistake. The distribution contains 3 files .vmdk, .vbox and .txt (which does not explain how to run the virtual image). This is incorrect to distribute .vmdk and .vbox. It is tricky to make use of 2 files .vmdk .vbox under virtualbox-4.3.6. I found no way to run the virtual machine by myself, then asked google, found a solution at technat Lon (url deleted because "URLs in reviews are prohibited"). Following the guide, I managed to run the machine (losing settings in .vbox). Within the virtual machine, there were some glitches, and I failed to start an application. I don't know if the glitches and inability to run the application were caused by incorrect settings in newly created .vbox. Please, distribute .ova file. Or at least detail how to open the virtual machine under Linux/virtualbox-4.3.6

    Posted 01/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Nice. ISO loaded in VMWARE and ran just fine. Aside to Developers; AMD64 has been around for 10 years. Just Saying. ;)

    Posted 06/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job! I higly appreciate this OS! <br /> /projects/reactos/ *[Changelog]

    Posted 06/28/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks