PDFwriter for Mac Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
18
8
5
2
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Found out I can't select the folder to create the PDF, then I followed the issues for the PPD file, then I did a print sample: 5 pages out of 29 in a 5.1MB file... created a 126MB file. This has been uninstalled.

    Posted 05/16/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Once you find your pdfs beneath /Users/Shared/PDFwriter you recognize that all files have a length of zero bytes. Then you dig through reviews to accidently find the information on how to specify the provided PPD file in order to make the software fly. Finally working, but horrible UX. (Tested on El Capitan.)

    Posted 04/01/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works for Mac OS El Capitan (10.11.6 ). As mentioned by mitcboo, "when adding the printer in preferences, instead of using the Generic Postscript Printer pick Other.. and navigate to /Library/Printers/Lisanet/PDFwriter/pdfwriter.ppd" The output is then generated with files bigger than 0 Bytes in following directory: /private/var/spool/pdfwriter It would be nice if you could change preferences like: - destination folder - after PDF-creation start an application with filepath as argument such an automator or similar If those will be available I will give 5 stars! :)

    Posted 01/04/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works nicely once properly installed. A couple of issues: 1. It can be slow with longer documents - the partially-written pdf looks like a normal file in Finder, but it will show up as "damaged" if you try to open it before PDFwriter is done with it. Open the print queue to see if printing is complete. 2. The generated pdfs are very large - a 50-page document can be well over a gigabyte. For text-only documents, this can be fixed by opening the file with the ColorSync Utility application, and applying the Black & White filter. ("Reduce file size" leads to poor resolution.) PDF-shrinking services like smallpdf.com and pdfcompress.com are also very effective. 3. You have no control over the destination folder. I made an alias of it and put it in the dock.

    Posted 10/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works well to create pdf from any application that can print and also keeps programs happy that require a printer when you don't have one to install. For those having problems after upgrading the OS version, you need to uninstall the pdf driver and then re-install. Could be made more user friendly by displaying the output folder in finder after a print rather than expecting the user to know where the files are located.

    Posted 09/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Those experiencing difficulties getting this to work in El Capitan might like to try RWTS PDFwriter (google github rwts pdfwriter). RWTS PDFwriter is closely based on Lisanet PDFwriter, but avoids the sandboxing restrictions on print drivers introduced in El Capitan, and also provides automatic configuration of the printer driver to simplify installation.

    Posted 06/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    IMPORTANT UNDER 10.11.x : When adding the printer in preferences, instead of using the Generic Postscript Printer pick Other.. and navigate to /Library/Printers/Lisanet/PDFwriter/pdfwriter.ppd and select that. Works great to generate PDF from Windows programs under CrossOver.

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fine here in 10.11 El Capitan, just used it to print a secure PDF form from Acrobat Pro so it could be opened in Preview. Installation does require an extra step beyond the instructions - "Lisanet PDFwriter" does not automatically appear as the printer software, you have to select the driver manually when you are setting up the new printer. Click on Use: Generic PostScript Printer, in that dropdown menu choose "Other..." and navigate to the ppd file at /Library/Printers/Lisanet/PDFwriter/PDFwriter.ppd

    Posted 03/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install, but no indication on first use of where destination output files are going to be written - I thought initially, nothing at all had happened when I 'printed' my first output. I'd love this to work, but it simply doesn't. As for some other reviewers, I can't get PDF Writer to work on El Capitan - it writes only zero byte files, and you can't select either output file name or location. Limited response to support requests, and no indication in download source that it won't work at all in El Capitan (and maybe not even on Yosemite)

    Posted 01/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    O Byte files! Well I got as far as a successful installation however when I print using the PDFWriter, I jet get a directory with 0-byte files in it.

    Posted 12/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Install is going well and a little bit strange that you can not change the default output directory. Then you get Sandbox Errors in OS X El Capitan, which result in empty .pdf files. In the log it says: [ERROR] error in creating pdf from input stream

    Posted 11/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I needed a way to generate PDFs from a Windows program running in Crossover (Wine). This did the trick. Here's the fix to make the install work for El Capitan 10.11 - After installing the package go back and explore the contents of the installer package, then open up the .gz archive. Copy the PDFWriter.ppd file from the archive (Archive/Library/Printers/Lisanet/PDFwriter/) to your machine in /Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources. Now go to the Printers dialog and add the printer, choosing the Lisanet driver as explained in the documentation. As others have mentioned, the PDFs you generate end up in Users/Shared/PDFwriter/<username>.

    Posted 10/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I find the way to use PDFWriter on OSX 10.11 Juste you see that the Lisanet driver is not présent when you add printer... so you can add it manualy on the following path ! /Library/Printers/Lisanet/PDFwriter/PDFwriter.ppd It working fine now !!! thanks to me ;-)

    Posted 10/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    confirm no longer works in 10.11 - the "Lisanet PDFWriter" options never appears in the 'use with' option during install.

    Posted 10/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    confirm does NOT work on 10.11

    Posted 10/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works!

    Posted 10/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This review based on OS X 10.10.5 installation. Package installed with no problem. Documentation for adding PDFwriter as a printer was OK. As others have noted, PDFwriter alias was broken. A few minutes was spent trying to track down the original folder to no avail. The decision was made to give PDFwriter a try to see what would happen. As it turns out, the user is able to choose a name and destination for the PDFwriter output. Nice. PDFwriter produced the required PDF. So, PDFwriter works well. However, the documentation is poor for OS X 10.10. There is no need to sweat the broken alias as it appears to be irrelevant for the given operating system.

    Posted 09/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Downloaded PDFwriter for Mac, ran it once, and like so many others could not locate the file created. After some web searching, I found the rather obscure destination folder, which is not described in the documentation. The solution is: PDFwriter installs a shortcut to printed files. You can find it at: <boot folder>/Users/Shared/PDFwriter You can also use Terminal app. Just paste the following command (then hit enter): open /private/var/spool/pdfwriter/ Now, it is a complete app and useful. Suggest better documentation within the app as it runs, or better yet, a choice of destination folder. Otherwise, happy to have this tool in my toolbox.

    Posted 09/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked perfectly for me. Adobe Reader selfishly prevented me from saving a form to PDF; this solved the problem.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Needs to be updated! I'm getting zero bytes after the Yosemite install..

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    running 10.8.5 on iMac 3.06 GHz Core 2 with 12 GB RAM doesn't work for me - acts like it's working - at end all I find is broken alias to PDFWriter folder

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately, the only thing I can verify is that it behaves as a real printer from an OS interaction perspective including code interaction which is important to me. However, at least under Mac OS X 10.10.1 i.e. Yosemite I cannot find the pdf files in the stated location provided by the readme e.g. Users/Shared/PdfWriter , all I find there is a broken alias

    Posted 12/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good tool. We have an editable PDF that we edit prior to sending to clients. However, with our Mac users, we weren't able to save the edited version as an uneditable PDF. This tool allowed us to do that. The only drawback to this is that after we printed to PDFWriter, it rotated each page vertically although the content was in landscape mode. If anyone has a solution to keep the pages in landscape mode to be able to read as is when it opens that would be great, otherwise I'll have to go the long way and open through preview to edit and then save as PDF. Not a ton of extra time, but an extra step I was hoping to avoid.

    Posted 11/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    just what i needed. THANKS very much, appreciated @!

    Posted 10/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ottimo strumento! Su Mac OS Maveric consente di stampare in 80K disegni cad che con l'esportazione in pdf di sistema peserebbeo 9MB Non ho trovato il modo per scegliere io dove salvare il file stampato

    Posted 03/02/2014
Show next 15 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks