PCMan File Manager Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
20
1
1
1
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    use it with (k)ubuntu 16.10 perfect for root access :) dolphin doesn't work with root access... one minor: PCMan does not support USB harddrive (or any other device) i have usb package installed, so should work...

    Posted 05/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use Liuxmint 17.2 Mate on an old Samsung x20 notebook, I switched to PCManFM 1.2.0 and now I have a fast and *stable* system. Nautilus/Caja sucks to much RAM and frizzed often the whole system. PCManFM had the most what I need, the design is nice, I can configure nearly all - thumbnail view, icons size, desktop; way better then Thunar and other I tested (a lot). PCManFM is fast, opens windows fast, show desktop fast, Drag and Drop, tabs - a lot! I missing the 'Open as Root' but its possible under |Tools| > Executing a command with > gksu pcmanfm or you use *Actions* Here some examples: <forum.slitaz.org/topic/custom-actions-in-the-pcmanfm> German site explain it: <wiki.ubuntuusers.de/PCMan_File_Manager/Benutzerdefinierte_Aktionen#Ordner-mit-Root-Rechten-oeffnen>

    Posted 11/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use PCManFM along with vifm. Light and useful when I have to do some intensive file-management.

    Posted 05/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reinsert "open as Root"... was very (and quickly) usefull

    Posted 12/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent, finally something better than Nautilus and not as annoying as SpaceFM.

    Posted 08/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for version 1.2. Love the dual pane feature.

    Posted 07/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 1.2 has removed the "Open folder as root", that is one of the features i used every day. And there is no option to re-enable it, as people asked in user mailing lists and on launchpad. Losing an important feature in an upgrade, with no replacement is always a symptom of bad design.

    Posted 05/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Almost there. For me it's the best and fastest file manager under Linux. Thunar is also great but it feels a bit sluggish in comparison to pcmanfm. I would only like to see one more option, though: when showing thumbnails is disabled to be able to see the thumbnails anyway when you switch to a thumbnail view. 5 stars nevertheless.

    Posted 05/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, just want Breadcrumbs, and a option to show thumbnails sidebar like windows. Overall the best "nix" file manager and its fast.

    Posted 06/27/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thanks pcmanfm

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    current git has fixed invalid left-click on desktop using oxygen-gtk. Very good.

    Posted 11/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice job! Easy and clean!

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent 1.0 release... Finally with good thumbnailer support, and stays fast as ever

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like pcmanfm, so i must say thumbs down. My last version is pcmanfm_0.5.2+svn20091029-1ubuntu3.1_i386, have archived deb package... I agree with Werner, i can not say it better. :(

    Posted 03/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast & stable & just works (always) I'm using it for 4 years already and I like it. I use most of functions that it has, and don't see anything missing. It is one of first programs I install on new linux installations.

    Posted 12/29/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is an excellent file manager. It is amazingly fast, easy to use, and reliable!

    Posted 11/07/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 07/11/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really good way to get rid of Nautilus.

    Posted 05/03/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I did really like the old 0.5 releases. But the new rewritten sucks. Sure its still same fast, but many useful functionality is just gone (forever?). I do miss the folder tree view, without it, a filemanager is useless. I switched to Dolphin, on my new Laptop there's no big noticeable slowdown anyway. Please dont go the Gnome way! We arent all that stupid, keep functionality, flexibility & power.

    Posted 08/06/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    really fast and effective.

    Posted 07/20/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, handy and in active development.

    Posted 06/28/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Light and effective. Very nice

    Posted 04/21/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very impressive :-D

    Posted 03/20/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love it

    Posted 11/19/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    extremely fast and good to use though I dont need tabbed browsing

    Posted 09/06/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks