Dev-C++ Icon

A free, portable, fast and simple C/C++ IDE

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
104
13
0
1
9
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dev is good only for those who want to make really simple and plain projects... Like a calculator or any project with 10-30 lines of code in main().For anything more advanced be prepared for numerous bugs and no support...Go to another IDE.

    Posted 06/16/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Zero stars. Dev-C++ is a total failure. It doesnt work. It's filled with bugs. The downloads are in some kinda stupid archive instead of using established archives. Why use an archive at all? Downloads are slow on Sourceforge: took 13 minutes to DL Mingw only to discover my Winrar wont open it. Give it up, dicks. Go back to working at Walmart.

    Posted 03/14/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! AVG free antivir detects Trojan Generic36.BZED. A simple *empty* win console app compiles to 128kbyte with trojan inside. Is there somewhere trojan-free dev-c++ install package?

    Posted 04/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    virustotal.com/de/file/faad96bbcc51f115c9edd691785d1309e7663b67dcfcf7c11515c3d28c9c0f1f/analysis/ Zillya detects malware named Adware.MegaSearch.Win32.18250

    Posted 03/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the program will not open on my windows 8 laptop.

    Posted 09/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While we are grateful that the excellent Dev-C++ IDE has continued its existence throughout this project and it seems very promising; sadly this IDE is so full of bugs that it is UNUSABLE. Unfortunately this IDE is useless in production code and even for testing environments because you are unable to compile most of the time. You run into countless denial permissions when trying to rebuild or clean a project, often you have to compile a few times before the compiler actually works on compiling flawless code that compiles in other IDE's and in MinGW or gcc g++ (GNU/Linux). I would be glad to re-use this IDE (since it is light, well designed, and very flexible) if these compilation/rebuilding bugs were fixed. For the time being I recommend: Visual C++ Express, Code::Blocks, Eclipse CDT, or Netbeans.

    Posted 05/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    how to use the code completion after setting tool-editor option-class browsing- completion??? I found there is no action when I wrote the code

    Posted 07/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    why i cant run any project either the sample programm ? what is the problemm? any one can help?

    Posted 04/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i cant seem to get the debugging to work ,it just keep saying no gb file

    Posted 01/14/2012

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks