Dev-C++ Icon

A free, portable, fast and simple C/C++ IDE

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
103
12
0
1
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While we are grateful that the excellent Dev-C++ IDE has continued its existence throughout this project and it seems very promising; sadly this IDE is so full of bugs that it is UNUSABLE. Unfortunately this IDE is useless in production code and even for testing environments because you are unable to compile most of the time. You run into countless denial permissions when trying to rebuild or clean a project, often you have to compile a few times before the compiler actually works on compiling flawless code that compiles in other IDE's and in MinGW or gcc g++ (GNU/Linux). I would be glad to re-use this IDE (since it is light, well designed, and very flexible) if these compilation/rebuilding bugs were fixed. For the time being I recommend: Visual C++ Express, Code::Blocks, Eclipse CDT, or Netbeans.

    Posted 05/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project helped me a lot when I needed to write something on C++ quickly. The fact that it lives is inspiring!

    Posted 05/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The size of the project has increased dramatically. Dev C++ 5.5.3 (available from PortableFreeware.com) took 171 MB (including minGW). Eclipse CDT takes 219 MB (excluding minGW - I set the Eclipse CDT path to the Dev C++ 5.5.3 minGW). Dev C++ 5.6.2 takes 618 MB. Some of the explosion is due to including legacy minGW as well as minGW-32. However, in comparing some of the 5.5.3 to 5.6.2 files with the same name, they have grown by a factor of 8. I certainly give 5.6.2 Five stars for simplifying the installation process (which includes the tool chain). It would be nice to know if some of the growth in some of the files is merited or perhaps somebody missed an optimize switch in the compile/build.

    Posted 04/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just excellent! Up-to-date and above all it's portable.

    Posted 04/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You're doing an amazing job by maintaing this. All C/C++ students/programmers are leveraging this! Big thanks!

    Posted 04/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great C++ IDE for beginners.

    Posted 03/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good ide for basic and/or educational projects, simple to use, freeware and under active development and improvement.

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    wohh. so nice IDE, the updates dramastically accelerate. my last Dev-C++ vrsion is 5.5.5 better that not late though

    Posted 01/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really good project. First, it provides a portable version of C++ IDE. Second, I can start learning and developing OpenGL programs instantly.

    Posted 01/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It looks really good.Though I'm just getting started I do not really know much, but does it install a compiler along with it?

    Posted 01/09/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm running into a few unusual problems loading up development software onto it. running off Windows 8.1, which I think could be causing problems. When I load a regular "hello world" test program off DevCPP, it'll compile fine, but when running the program the console window freezes and a "ConsolePauser.exe has stopped working" error message pops up. I checked around a bit online to see what the issue might be but support posts have no information related to the ConsolePauser crashing and it sounds like the version I downloaded is the correct one for Windows 8, so I'm kind of at a loss here. Is there something else I need to configure? Maybe permissions? What am I doing wrong here?

    Posted 11/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When I open an old file using dev-C++5.5.3, it is no response, why?

    Posted 11/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm a student who is intereseted in C++, and I also take part in some OI competitions. I love this IDE, it's enough for me and easy to use. I'm from China.

    Posted 11/08/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Better than the old DevC++

    Posted 10/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent! Congratulation and thank you very much for your effort.

    Posted 10/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Orwell Dev-C++ is simply the best IDE for mingw today!

    Posted 09/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Só não encontrei o reindente dele, no geral é otimo.

    Posted 07/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DevC++ is a great development environment for beginners!

    Posted 06/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Orwelldevcpp is perfect! Thanks.

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Interesting project, tnx!

    Posted 06/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Orwelldevcpp is great! Thanks.

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks so much! Yet WebUpdate is always disconnecting... Does it support proxy'd connections? I could not find where to set connectivity parameters...

    Posted 06/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can a torrent link be provided too? Downloading is a problem with slow internet connections. Torrent link will be much helpful!

    Posted 05/31/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You are doing a really good job! Finally the obsolete old Bloodshev Dev-C++ is updated!

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks