OpenProj - Project Management Icon

OpenProj - Project Management

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (133) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (133)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
91
1
4
0
37
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I had installation problems with java version. I found solution in a forum by changing the run.conf I still cannot save as PDF. how do?

vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

One star no tbecause it no good but because its is unsupported dead software - Check out Serena dot com Recommend you use ProjectLibre instead - search sourceforge You can also print to pdf with ProjectLibre

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Some of you might find this link to ]project-open[ - Project Management - last updated 12-12-2012 v3.5.0.1-2 h***://sourceforge.net/projects/project-open/?source=dlp

    Posted 01/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great. My son loves it. Thank you for your work guys!

    Posted 11/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Are there any updates available? This software have several issues!!!

    Posted 11/16/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just the basics, missing any "secondary" but vital functions. The worst point is that today I had to uninstall java 7 to see I project I saved yesterday...

    Posted 11/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's great product. But want to see more tutorials, more information, may be community forum. Also, how to change scale from days to weeks (duration of the works)?

    Posted 11/12/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and use.

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work. installed and running. Thanks

    Posted 11/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works just as intended and much more. Recommended!

    Posted 11/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this app

    Posted 11/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried it on one of my VPS servers and so far it is very smooth and error-free

    Posted 11/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its an excellent tool. I haven't been waiting for this application on MAC. It makes my day. Quick question, anyone knows how to populate the entire project on GANTT viewing capacity, which allows scale to pages setup so that I can view the whole project flows? Thanks

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Generally good esp as it's free - ok you can't save as a pdf but you can print to pdf if you dowload PrimoPDF or similar so really not an unsurmountable problem

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this app

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't remember how to activate saturdays as job days, some of my items ends in saturday and it won't let me., instead it make it finish on friday..., how do I activate saturdays?!?! PLEASE HELP!!

    Posted 10/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just to remind everyone that you can still obtain a copy of the user guide for OpenProj at www.openprojuserguide.com. It's a 44-page Guide written in English with illustrations, screenshots and more, instantly downloadable as a PDF. The sample also gives a full list of its contents.

    Posted 09/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You can print to PDF if you install a PDF writer such as the free one I use, CutePDF Writer (www.cutepdf.com).

    Posted 09/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The product is perfectly usable if you use a "pdf printer" like pdf creator to create the pdfs. Some quirks but we use it for a the planning of a research project where some participants do not like MS. The source is available, for any willing person to correct bugs.

    Posted 08/22/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ProjectLibre is the updated OpenProj. It has been downloaded in 190 countries. It is also on Sourceforge and is the first major update in over 4 years! There is a community site at www.projectlibre.org * New Ribbon User Interface * Compatible with Microsoft Project 2010 * Printing * Many bug fixes

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I really do not like that I cannot print it to pdf format!

    Posted 08/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm delighted to hear that OpenProj may have its life refreshed. As a Project Manager I use it within NHS Scotland, saving lots of money and providing non-project managers (e.g. department managers) with visible decision support information, as well as of course using it to track my projects. I would like to see more tailoring around printing and displaying info, e.g. getting rid of the time display on a tasks start/end. I work with dates rather than times, and they just clog up my presentations. It's a great tool and I will continue to use it and spread its use.

    Posted 08/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. Using it under Linux. Thanks.

    Posted 07/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Like Pete, I had similarly positive results at first. As a project manager who consults with numerous non-profits that are very underfunded, I thought I'd perhaps founmd a serviceable scheduling and project management alternative to MS Project. After building a very detailed project schedule over the course of a few weeks, and saving often, the file suddenly decided not to open. Couldn't open it within OpenProj, or by clicking ion the proj file name. Looking at the file in Wordpad or notepad, it looks like a mish mash of ASCII text and other characters. Don't know if a clean OpenProj file is an ASCII text file, but there was nothing that looked salvageable from a text editor. Total waste of time, which I have to eat and try rebuilding the schedule from older printed PDF samples.

    Posted 07/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    At first I was very pleased with this software, it seemed to work well and for free had enough features to be very useful. However, I've just wasted 3 days work when it's decided not to open a file I saved this morning. All seemed well, I had a project laid out with around 200 tasks, I was able to see which resources were overworked at what times and shuffle things around to get best use out of the available workforce. Perfect! I saved my work, then saved a copy as a future job template which I stripped back to basics, re-saved the template and closed the program. Pleased with my work I called my boss to have a look; the main project file wouldn't open, the template opened, but when I closed it again, it asked if I wanted to save changes to the main project file, not the open template file. No matter what I do, saving it under other names, emailing to a different computer, it still thinks it's the main project file, even though it opens as the template file! And the main project file just wont open. The data is there; you can see it if you open it in notepad, but it wont open in "Openproj" I have now lost 3 days work and have to find an alternative program as I'm not going to chance this again. There are some serious bugs in this software, but absolutely no available support. By the time you reallise the problems, you've already wasted whatever time you've put in and it's too late. This software will likely frustrate you so much you go crawling to Microsoft with your credit card in hand for something that will at least not let you down at the last minute!

    Posted 07/16/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not working on Windows xp

    Posted 06/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Are there any updates available?

    Posted 06/24/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks