OpenMediaVault Icon

A next generation network attached storage (NAS) solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
143
6
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is outstanding! I've run it for a couple of years now, presently using v2.1.23 to serve filesystems from 8 drives. It has been fully reliable, I've yet to have any software issues with it. The web UI is easy to use but also comprehensive. OMV has broad filesystem support, which I've found useful when upgrading our pcs/laptops - I can add the old drives to my OMV server to have all of the data easily available on the LAN.

    Posted 06/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use OMV on a daily basis and once configured it just works like a charm. Even if there's a problem to solve, both, community and support act very responsively and answer questions in a helpful and constructive way.

    Posted 06/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    an impressive NAS/VM host setup I yet to come across off. works very well and have an impressive number of plugins and add-ons to work with. seams very stable. need some work in area of supporting KVM via GUI. but that is just nit-picking :-) virtualbox works very well. thanks for a great product.

    Posted 05/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the best things for your home nas. easy and simply. not need to be linux expoert

    Posted 05/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing, simple. Great job !

    Posted 02/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Project!! Easy Setting,user friendly.Super love!!

    Posted 02/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply great!

    Posted 02/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good !!!

    Posted 01/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using OMV for about a year. Love it so much I have also installed it for Brother for a NAS solution. Support forum is excellent. Get immediate help always. Eagerly waiting for version 3.X

    Posted 01/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent. Used NAS4Free before, but OMV is much more stable and easier to maintain and to extend with extra functionality.

    Posted 09/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, easy and perfectly supported

    Posted 09/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Show !!

    Posted 08/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just ok, 4 stars

    Posted 08/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Open media vault is the best small office file server and gets better with every update. I have tried a lot of file servers but this one (that also runs on a Raspberrypi) is the best one out there. Rich Prim

    Posted 07/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    to be honest, I tried several products but OMV is the most powerful one. excellent community and it servers an easy setup. Go ahead and try it - you won't get disappointed -trust me!

    Posted 07/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is all you need for a home or small business NAS, is easy to use, and has a lot of features. Ver. 2.1 runs very well on a gen8 microserver.

    Posted 07/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well layed out web gui. Easy to setup, great for SOHO, responsive user community and dev support

    Posted 07/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS Software with well laid out web interface, with lots of plug-in features. Excellent for home or small business use.

    Posted 07/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    THIS is the NAS-software you want to go for. It is extremely stable, needs low resources, easy to install and maintain also for "normal" users like me. The installation is easy, and the Web interface is easy and logical. So, it is easy to create users and folders, and give the appropriate access rights. Also the plug-ins are cool. I run a Windows7 in parallel on the NAS and switch over if I need it, stream to my stereocenter the music I have, and use OpenVPN to do my banking and other private stuff when I am travelling via a secure connection. Also the speed ist fantastic, I manage to get transfers above 100MBit. Since I have tested several other solutions, I am happy to have finally arrived at Openmediavault. Easy to use for beginners, really fun for more experienced users, good performance, and running super on my old hardware which is now put to good and versatile usage again. Also the community is very helpful, usually you get (even to beginner's questions as I posted) answers and solutions within one day, in a very friendly manner. HIGHLY recommended!!

    Posted 05/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    First of all, thank you for this great Project! This is the best NetworkAttachedStorage solution ever. So many Plugins available, BEST support on world and also compatible to almost any system! Everything at all, WONDERFUL also great job at forums.openmediavault.org/ by their moderators

    Posted 04/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent system, with many features for untrained users

    Posted 04/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use openmediavault since half a year now and I'm very happy with it. Support is excellent and omv runs like a charm... Thank you!!!

    Posted 03/30/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Escrevo na minha lingua nativa. Só posso dizer bem deste software que ainda por cima é totalmente gratuito. Ao inicio tive muitas duvidas, mas com a ajuda do pessoal do forum terminei por ve-las resolvidas. Já fui utilizador de outros NAS, mas este convenceu-me por completo e não pretendo outro. Recomendo-o a todos a utilização deste programa. ------ I write in my native language. I can only say well this software on top is completely free. At the beginning I had many doubts, but with the help forum staff finished by to see them resolved. I have been user other NAS, but this convinced me completely and do not want another. I recommend it to everyone using this program.

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    OMV is a flexible/powerful NAS open source software solution (based on Debian). I find the support community to be the friendliest most helpful I've ever encountered. The quality of the core software is a testament to the efforts of Volker and the other community of developers who work on the powerful plugin system. Thank you all...

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best NAS platform, and by far. It is Linux debian based, highly flexible, accept all filesystems (including ZFS), has all sorts of plug-ins to install and of real Linux applications to add (like Sabnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato...). With an easy to use interface, very comprehensive, adapted to both the beginner and the geek, and with a very active forum. The developper, Volker, does a great job here.

    Posted 03/28/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks