GnuCOBOL (formerly OpenCOBOL) Icon

A free COBOL compiler

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
33
1
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We are doing amazing things with GnuCOBOL, it is an awesome product if you don't use it sorry! your loss. We migrated our application and we are developing with GnuCOBOL and i can assure you we have never had any problem.

    Posted 10/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed 2.0 RC1 on Windows using Visual Studio Community, took all of 10 minutes to set up the project and build the compiler. Using it to migrate a system, 1.2 million lies of code, written in REALIA COBOL from 1986. So far 25 modules have been compiled with only minor changes to the source. Using OpenCOBOLIDE to edit, compile and test each system component. If anyone is interested I can provide a Windows self install exe to install the compiler under WINDOWS 7,8 and 10. Minor changes to OpenCOBOLIDE configuration will provide a integrated development environment. The original system used a screen management system written by the folks at NORCOM back in 1985. Great product which simplified full screen development under MS-DOS. For the conversion to GnuCOBOL I will be using they new package GUIScreenIO. Simplifies the development of COBOL programs using GnuCobol for WINDOWS. While is is not opensource, the product, it is not priced out of reach and, for the time saved, it is well worth the cost. screenio.com.

    Posted 09/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    finished porting half million of lines from MF it works now

    Posted 09/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far no complaints. Have used it to write a farily extensive program on Linux and FreeBSD and it works just great!

    Posted 04/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product and toolset for migrating, integrating and transforming these infamous cobol beasts on the hosts. The openness of C enables amazing portability aspect. If you have the option of chosing a platform/operating system, I strongly recommend to go along with one of the unix brands (ubuntu, linux) and rather restrain from windows - where the cygwin etc issues often pose problems. Of course - be honest to your self - you cannot expect the same support efficiency and reaction times like for example from MF-Cobol ... but it's still amazing enough.

    Posted 11/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great compiler for every job production and test. perfect

    Posted 09/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good alternative to commercial cobol compilers.

    Posted 08/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really powerful !

    Posted 05/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, such a fantastic product! I don't know how commercial COBOL solutions can even think they can stay in business with their archaic licensing fees! I ported our product from a commercial compiler platform in less than 30 minutes and it's working flawlessly under GnuCOBOL. You owe it to yourself to check this product out. It does not disappoint.

    Posted 03/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A well-written compiler for a very underrated if long-in-the-tooth language. A fine support community.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is what COBOL needs.. A new system not requiring a main frame. COBOL needs to be ported to the PC environment. This gives access to COBOL on a lower budget.

    Posted 02/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In many cases the GNU Cobol will become a valid replacement for proprietary (and thus expensive) software development platforms (got much experience with other UNIX, VMS and Mainframe based products). It has got a high priority for me, and my new software development projects are being considered to be managed with GNU Cobol.

    Posted 11/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, with great support!

    Posted 10/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job. Great job. Only need an integrated IDE and possibility of GUI more easily !!!!!!

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work!

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    COBOL is my standard programming language again. Access to sql is not needed for COBOL with its available indexed sequential file format with multiple keys. This version is totally COBOL 85 compliant except for the optional REPORT WRITER feature. Many features from later versions of COBOL have been added as well.

    Posted 11/16/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good compiler.

    Posted 10/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job. Please consider moving to github or bitbucket. SF is not king anymore and for a long time...

    Posted 08/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using this compiler for some years and it has reached a very good state of maturity to the point that all our applications five+ system and over 500k lines of code, run using it in commercial environments both as sold products and as open source. In many cases it is superior to Micro Focus and Fujitsu products and a lot cheaper with a lot more functionality! With the latest version V2.0 (see source library system) it is becoming a world beater. Now with v2.1 which has added the report writer module it is up there with the paid for compilers, e.g., MF. Currently does not offer OO support but keep an eye out for the C++ versions over the next few years.

    Posted 08/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good compiler despite some shortcomings. But his biggest flaws are: 1) Updating and changing very, very very very slow !! 2) Do not generate graphical user interface. 3) Do not allow native access to SQL databases. Too bad for a good compiler. Can be better.

    Posted 06/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Yes, great software and one of the best features is an ability to read and edit files from other developers.

    Posted 05/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program with lots of useful tools.

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fabulous and awesome project. Cobol will bury Java !

    Posted 03/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Product, when I had some problems Michael spent a great deal of time helping me resolve the issues and find the problem. When I installed on Linux Mint the installation went smoothly, when my sample programs didn't work Michael was right there to walk me through and even though I somehow loaded the wrong version resulting in the problems Michael was right there assisting with getting the right version.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project

    Posted 11/10/2012
Show next 8 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks