× Help save net neutrality! Learn more.
GnuCOBOL (formerly OpenCOBOL) Icon

A free COBOL compiler

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
37
2
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    6 month ago I started learning COBOL via GNUcobol being tired of those languages which use curled brackets. I installed in on SUSE, UBUNTU and MINT and it ran !!! Opencobilide and garys manual are very helpful to make non-frustrating experieces. The help-forum is superfast and they dont blame you asking beginners questions. If you have to do really dataprocessing (which means not writings apps for Iphones) GNUcobol is the compiler for professional DP. MF wrap up yourself warmly.

    Posted 07/24/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used for a COBOL training program. VSAM files worked very well. Great job, thank you !

    Posted 06/28/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Install went smoothly on OSX, everything works great!

    Posted 04/16/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best compilers I found

    Posted 04/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    jkrys: I would like your Windows self install exe, info about IDE setup, and any other helpful information you can provide. Thanks a lot.

    Posted 12/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dear jkrys, Could you send me the COBOL windows 7 installer ? Thank you

    Posted 12/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We are doing amazing things with GnuCOBOL, it is an awesome product if you don't use it sorry! your loss. We migrated our application and we are developing with GnuCOBOL and i can assure you we have never had any problem.

    Posted 10/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed 2.0 RC1 on Windows using Visual Studio Community, took all of 10 minutes to set up the project and build the compiler. Using it to migrate a system, 1.2 million lies of code, written in REALIA COBOL from 1986. So far 25 modules have been compiled with only minor changes to the source. Using OpenCOBOLIDE to edit, compile and test each system component. If anyone is interested I can provide a Windows self install exe to install the compiler under WINDOWS 7,8 and 10. Minor changes to OpenCOBOLIDE configuration will provide a integrated development environment. The original system used a screen management system written by the folks at NORCOM back in 1985. Great product which simplified full screen development under MS-DOS. For the conversion to GnuCOBOL I will be using they new package GUIScreenIO. Simplifies the development of COBOL programs using GnuCobol for WINDOWS. While is is not opensource, the product, it is not priced out of reach and, for the time saved, it is well worth the cost. screenio.com.

    Posted 09/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    finished porting half million of lines from MF it works now PS: gnu cobol does support INITIALISE statement mf cobol does NOT support INITIALISE statement +1 to gnu cobol

    Posted 09/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far no complaints. Have used it to write a farily extensive program on Linux and FreeBSD and it works just great!

    Posted 04/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product and toolset for migrating, integrating and transforming these infamous cobol beasts on the hosts. The openness of C enables amazing portability aspect. If you have the option of chosing a platform/operating system, I strongly recommend to go along with one of the unix brands (ubuntu, linux) and rather restrain from windows - where the cygwin etc issues often pose problems. Of course - be honest to your self - you cannot expect the same support efficiency and reaction times like for example from MF-Cobol ... but it's still amazing enough.

    Posted 11/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great compiler for every job production and test. perfect

    Posted 09/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This GNU Cobol is an exercise in frustration for the Windows user that don't like to use Linux. You either have to use CYGWin and then it will give you an error message when you try to compile something as easy as Hello World. This is utterly ridiculous in the ease of the software.

    Posted 09/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good alternative to commercial cobol compilers.

    Posted 08/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really powerful !

    Posted 05/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, such a fantastic product! I don't know how commercial COBOL solutions can even think they can stay in business with their archaic licensing fees! I ported our product from a commercial compiler platform in less than 30 minutes and it's working flawlessly under GnuCOBOL. You owe it to yourself to check this product out. It does not disappoint.

    Posted 03/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A well-written compiler for a very underrated if long-in-the-tooth language. A fine support community.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is what COBOL needs.. A new system not requiring a main frame. COBOL needs to be ported to the PC environment. This gives access to COBOL on a lower budget.

    Posted 02/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In many cases the GNU Cobol will become a valid replacement for proprietary (and thus expensive) software development platforms (got much experience with other UNIX, VMS and Mainframe based products). It has got a high priority for me, and my new software development projects are being considered to be managed with GNU Cobol.

    Posted 11/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, with great support!

    Posted 10/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job. Great job. Only need an integrated IDE and possibility of GUI more easily !!!!!!

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work!

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    COBOL is my standard programming language again. Access to sql is not needed for COBOL with its available indexed sequential file format with multiple keys. This version is totally COBOL 85 compliant except for the optional REPORT WRITER feature. Many features from later versions of COBOL have been added as well.

    Posted 11/16/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good compiler.

    Posted 10/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job. Please consider moving to github or bitbucket. SF is not king anymore and for a long time...

    Posted 08/29/2013
Show next 15 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, Thank you