NTFS-FREE for Mac OS X Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
16
1
2
2
15
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • danield76
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Doesnt work ! uninstall script here: apple stackexchange(.com) /questions/145037/how-to-uninstall-ntfs-free

    Posted 01/11/2016
  • nbluedev
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Doesn't work on Yosemite! Do this to UNINSTALL! Download Uninstall.sh - sourceforge.net/projects/ntfsfree/files/uninstall.sh/download -This is going to remove ntfs-free files from: /System/Library/Extensions/ntfs-free.kext /sbin/mount_ntfs-free /System/Library/Filesystems/ntfs-free.fs -To run this uninstall script, first open your Console.app and write: chmod +x (after this drag and drop uninstall.sh and press Enter) -Then drag n drop uninstall.sh script again and press enter. -Now restart your mac by typing sudo reboot Thats it, your BootCamp disk will appear again :P ---THIS METHOD WORKS FOR YOSEMITE - hackintosh.zone/downloads/confirmation/506-free-ntfs-driver-for-mac-os-x/ --NOTE: Don't run from .zip file (extract it and then install) ; Don't attempt to install this if ntfs-free is still installed! ; If you get error after restart, press "Force"

    Posted 07/05/2015
  • charithlahiru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How to remove this. After installing this my bootcam device is not mountable in my mac os. How can i fix this

    Posted 05/20/2015
  • lewgrzegorz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To the Source Forge staff, this project should be removed from Source Forge. As you may notice, the package files are out of date (they are two years old). This does NOT work with OS X Yosemite. Apple should at least block the installation of this package.

    Posted 04/03/2015
  • lilyu1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Avoid if using Yosemite. If installed, it will make Bootcamp drive unmountable. There is a solution to overcome this problem however. discussions.apple(.)com/thread/6549218

    Posted 12/23/2014
  • number1haxor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not working on Yosemite 10.10. Had to use Time Machine to get rid of it.

    Posted 10/15/2014
  • pnallin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've tried to unistall this app... I tried to used the file 'uninstall' but nothing happened. There is nothing on this folder /System/Library/Extensions/ related to ntfs-free anymore. And I still get the error message after connecting my external HD. How can we really uninstall this app ?! Is there another file we should delete ? Has this app deleted any file which it wasn't supposed to ? If someone succeed in unistalling, please let us know !!

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • hayertjez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have installed the program on my MacBook Air running 10.9.3 ( Mavericks ) but it does not work at all.

    Posted 05/30/2014
  • skuldelev
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed this on OSX Mavericks, it does not work. writing to ntfs HD is not working. (IF ANYONE KNOWS HOW TO UNINSTALL IT PLEASE POST IT HERE ty.) 1. There is no gui to interact with this software. 2. It only has installer NO UNINSTALLER. files are written to oblivion who knows where 3. NO SUPPORT OR GUIDE HOW TO UNINSTALL THIS CRAP. 4. wasted all morning on uninstalling crapware like this.

    Posted 02/09/2014
  • npvenkat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have a problem in using on WD 1TB harddisk, where as on a 256GB WD hard drive i can read and write. Is there any restriction using on a higher capacity HD. Also if i want to uninstall and install back what is the option as i couldnt find the utility from FINDER.

    Posted 11/25/2013
  • jerrymess
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What for do I need this tool? I can read NTFS volumes under my OS X 10.7 without any additional software. There is a problem to write on NTFS volumes under Mac, it can easily be solved with the help of Paragon NTFS for Mac.

    Posted 07/11/2013
  • printz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totally unstable. Sometimes it works, sometimes it locks up the system. Avoid.

    Posted 06/09/2013
  • peterdekr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed the .7 version on Lion, install works, but after restart nothing has changed any ntfs usb stick still is not accessible. Is there a guide or so?

    Posted 04/21/2013
  • maccacino
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    PKG installs fine. Restart. Then nothing. Can't find the app anywhere. Still no NTFS writes... :( No user documentation. A few screen shots of the only section that actually works, the install...

    Posted 02/09/2013
  • viscount
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It installs without problem but even after system restart NTFS USB drives cannot be written to. Anyone any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Running Mountain Lion with all Apple updates installed.

    Posted 09/16/2012