Notepad++ Compare plugin Icon

Comparison plugin for Notepad++ editor

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
28
3
2
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for plugin but it can't exactly find to highlight difference by letters and words. This makes plugin quite unhelpful for me.

    Posted 06/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sadly, it's just buggy. Other than the bugs already reported, it changes the second file when clearing results: A null byte is inserted (displayed as NUL in Np++)

    Posted 03/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using it on a daily basis for logs or configuration files comparison

    Posted 02/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks, it is working. But I have found some errors: 1) loss of syntax of the programming language configuration after turning off plugin; 2) the Notepad++ window is become black when you try to enable the plugin to compare the code of more than 7536 lines in file.

    Posted 12/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works way better than I thought it would. Fantastic job, thanks!!!!!!

    Posted 11/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really does its job. Thanks

    Posted 09/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All time favorite text editor!!

    Posted 06/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This plugin should be included as default in Notepad++ !!! Very good plugin, thank you for sharing!!!

    Posted 04/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The highlight diffs within line is the best feature

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This plugin saves me a lot of time!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can only repeat what wiffafoll wrote in an earlier review: "Has a horrible bug where comparing two files will destroy your undo history. Other bugs will cause it to remove the colour syntaxing and de-activate word wrapping. And it will also swap the tab position of the two files being compared for unknown reasons. You have been warned." That was 1.5 years ago. The bugs are still there.

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please add new version to official repository, available from Plugin Manager

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It mainly works, that's good. Bug report: Menu buttons are broken. They always stay checked. Feature request in line difference: Can you please add some color indicating where chars are different in a line. It's hard to spot difference in long lines. Medieval ways of copy line, paste it under another line, finger scroll and eyeball checking are just way too slow. Yes, my text goes up to 300 chars in a line. No, it's not a code. No, I can't/won't break it in multiple lines.

    Posted 01/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In compare it will remove the colour syntaxing and de-activate word wrapping.

    Posted 11/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As of v1.5.6.2 syntax highlighting works again! Unfortunately the keyboard shortcuts (Ctrl+PageDn, Ctrl+PageUp ...) are broken now - at least with Non-US keyboard layout.

    Posted 10/08/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works really nice, good overview of changes Too bad the highlight color and its transparency don't work.

    Posted 07/31/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Has a horrible bug where comparing two files will destroy your undo history. Other bugs will cause it to remove the colour syntaxing and de-activate word wrapping. And it will also swap the tab position of the two files being compared for unknown reasons. You have been warned.

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Npp-compare, it's the best!

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works flawlessly with Notepad++ 6.3.1 running on windows 7. I would only suggest that a small readme.txt was added to the zip with tips on how to install the plugin. It's not hard to google for the instructions, but it would be helpful if the user didn't had to. Nevertheless, commendable work. Kudos!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful but as said, there's an issue since Notepad++ 6.2.1 (with Compare plugin 1.5.6) : there's no more syntax highlight while comparing files.

    Posted 03/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great and very useful plugin. Nevertheless since Notepad++ version 6.2.2, I have noticed some unwanted behaviour. When I compare 2 files, the differences are correctly identified, but the language highlighted syntax is lost. When I compare 2 php files, the 2 files are displayed in black and white. When I compare 2 C files, one of the files is displayed in black and white. Maybe this can be solved by configuration ? Maybe there is a compatibility problem with recent version of Notepad++ ? Has somebody noticed the same problem ? Is there a solution available ?

    Posted 01/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 12/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great plugin. A suggestion for a new feature: ignore newlines, or even more useful: define a set of characters or patterns to ignore in comparison. Thanks

    Posted 12/05/2012
Show next 13 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks