NAS4Free Icon

An embedded Storage distribution for Windows, Mac, & UNIX-like systems

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
70
2
0
1
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, powerful, and ZFS!!!

    Posted 07/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this software, use it for home nas, i also run 3 vbox on the same machine, I've used other nas software and nothing compares. Thank you guys for suck a great product.

    Posted 06/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent and well maintained product. I especially like the ZFS, Samba and VirtualBox integration.

    Posted 04/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    my favorite NAS System since years

    Posted 11/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unbeatable for the price. :-) Fast & reliable. Not a fancy system with colourful GUI but also low HW requirements. Basic offer of usual services available - torrent, web server, FTP - and possibility to install others as addons.

    Posted 11/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very fast, simple and... 250 daus without reboot. Excellent

    Posted 11/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was a dummy until I decided to use Nas4Free - don't be a chump, get on it. Rock solid reliability, easy to use and fantastic support from a great community. Everyone is really friendly and the developers are super responsive and nice guys. And say hello on the forum

    Posted 11/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's really a big thing!!!

    Posted 08/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just ok.

    Posted 08/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing software, very easy to use and reliable ! I use it for many years with dual hard drives It's very light, give a second life to old desktops. More plug-ins would be amazing (sockso, new Dynamic DNS services, ...) Thaks

    Posted 08/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    veryyy goood

    Posted 08/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very, very good

    Posted 07/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use it myself, so I also have to like it too :)

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing software, very easy to use and reliable ! I use it for many years with dual hard drives It's very light, give a second life to old desktops. More plug-ins would be amazing (sockso, new Dynamic DNS services, ...) Thaks !

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software

    Posted 10/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool software!

    Posted 10/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS software, small power efficient OS run from a USB stick.

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been running a headless hardware NAS on my local intranet since FreeNAS was in the pre-V1 build. When it was split to FN/N4F I stuck with the N4F-side since I do not use ZFS (just CIFS & shares). I absolutely LOVE this software! it is very easy to configure to my needs and on the ultra-rare occasion I have had to reinstall the embedded...I can finalize the settings in under 15 minutes including all the share parameters. I highly recommend this software!

    Posted 08/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been running this project for 2 year now on a basic headless machine. It is incredible how sturdy and well managed this server can be. Thank you guys, for your incredible effort!.

    Posted 08/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS4Free is a good project... I'm not a professional of server and protocols... And I really need help to make N4F functional. I sugest to give onLine help in the right of page in the WebGUI. But I know, it's a hard work ! I have some problems : ITunes/DAAP do not work with iTunes... I found and use FirePlayer (try on OSx only at this moment) and It run very well ! Others problems in owners, groups and rights. Format ZSF or UFS ? I found help in French somewhere, this save me...

    Posted 07/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ### @jhixson: nas4free is not stable, not intuitive in any way, hard to navigate and configure, and doing anything in the shell is nearly impossible. I recommend FreeNAS, it has more functionality, is more stable, and allows you to use the shell### This review is not a review in any way, you just try to say yours is good and this is not! - not stable? ==>> same as FreeNAS like FreeBSD, so FreeBSD is not stable?. - hard to navigate and configure ==>> like a wood door stop... - doing anything in the shell ==>> install FreeBSD if you need the shell, it's designed for easy use just like FreeNAS. By the way it's got the same shell like pfsense/nas4free/freebsd... Myself I don't like these shells at all.(FreeBSD) I prefer the bash like Linux one. So I wanted NAS4Free because of the integrated HAST device. It does work well! FreeNAS has an industrial High Available product which is NOT free, therefore your comment comes along to grab more people from this product. Myself would not care much, because I think both products are really great, although FreeNAS has more fancy features then NAS4Free, BUT FreeNAS has no FREE High Available solution in any way. The remote snap shot works, but can't be implemented as a HA solution. Tried it, tested it, didn't worked. Also NAS4Free has an incredible easy configuring interface. If anyone who can't use this, then that person so go back to a cave! To create a HAST Enterprise storage takes just few hours! NAS4Free is good.

    Posted 06/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have run both NAS4F [FreeNAS 7.x] and FreeNAS 8.x/9.x as VMware VMs for several years, originally as iSCSI targets [VMware datastores], more recently as CIFS NAS. Each has pluses/minuses, and I have encountered upgrade issues with both at various times. Thought I had settled on FreeNAS 9.x but the 9.2 series has been very problematic, lots of minor fix releases, the move to Samba 4 created more issues than I could resolve. Anyway, moved to NAS4F 9.2 and everything just works smoothly after importing the volumes from FNAS 9.2. Kudos to the team for keeping things simple and stable without change for changes sake.

    Posted 05/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy & Functional

    Posted 03/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been running FreeNAS then NAS4Free in VirtualBox for small projects for years with no problems. Recently I decided to buid a home server using REAL hardware and have been running NAS4Free on it for a few months and everything has been working exactly as I expect. I am using the embedded version with 4x4TB HDDs in RAID-Z1 running NFS, CIFS, FTP, SSH, UPS, DDNS, iSCSI, BitTorrent, WebServer, pyTivo, pretty much all the services with both Linux and Windows Clients and I haven't had any problems at all. RAM consumption is low (about 30% of 4GB), performance is better than expected (on a Celeron G1620), the web GUI is easy to use and the price cannot be beat. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for Network Attached Storage.

    Posted 03/04/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks