NAS4Free Icon

An embedded Storage distribution for Windows, Mac, & UNIX-like systems

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
66
2
0
1
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • hsn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Way easier to setup then FreeNas 8

    Posted 07/27/2013
  • dvelazco
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really easy, functional and a real perfomer!!! After loosing our time with soho NAS solutions linke EMC/IOomega and Linksys, we put and old Intel Atom with 512 mb. ram and two 1 Tb. sata disks and an Intel gigabit ethernet card. It works like a charm. Even performs better than 500 dolar "cheap" NAS solutions. You surely want raid2 and surely want the small footprint and requirements. Nas4free saved the day!! I really reccomend you give it a try when plannig a custom and also cheap NAS solution.

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • teolinux
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is really useful. The NAS server is very simple to install and manage. It is based on the solid FreeBSD, and features native ZFS filesystem. It can be installed to have a great scalable NAS, able to power a wide range of systems: from a small old pc to a serious enterprise level server. The community is very helpful and the forums are rich with tips and solutions. The developers are active and constantly upgrading and improving the product.

    Posted 06/12/2013
  • nttranbao
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good NAS software. I used the embedded version to manage a 16Tb ZFS volume, and it works beautifully. Many thanks for the developers!

    Posted 06/03/2013
  • angelinagrom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 05/28/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 05/21/2013
  • davidshwinders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good application!

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • leocappri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I also did after a lot of tests and tweaks on FreeNAS 8 switched over to NAS4Free. Configs are not compatible so a clean setup was done that went easy. Now i have way better performance in NAS4Free than in FreeNAS. When I use the windows explorer to open the shared dataset with over 3000 files and lots of directories, the list view in the explorer is filled in: FreeNAS 8: close to 1 minute. NAS4free x64: less than 1 second. I am glad that I stumbled across NAS4Free and will use this from now on only! Highly Recommended

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • kitwalker14
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS4Free is vastly superior to FreeNas 8.x in every way. I also think it is incredibly poor form for the developers of FreeNas 8 to write negative reviews on the NAS4Free source-forge page. An absolute lack of professionalism on their behalf. Why don't you try to make a better product? that might help.

    Posted 10/01/2012
  • drpratten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was initially a bit disorientated about the name change to nas4free, but the team has just delivered. Keep up the good work. rock solid.

    Posted 09/23/2012
  • johnsnyder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program nas4free.

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • hummeruli
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS with nice features. Before NAS4Free, i tried freenas 8, but i think it's only the playground for the commercials.

    Posted 08/04/2012
  • shaftspice
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love it. I had freenas7 working for just fine until I got some new hardware & thought raidz2 was what I needed in terms of redundancy. I tried Freenas8 and was really disappointed, so much missing & I had to start learning command line code to get basic stuff done. Then I learnt of Nas4Free, the real continuation of the freenas project & it had raidz2 support now too. Been rock solid since the day I installed. I was so happy to find Nas4Free.

    Posted 07/18/2012
  • jonaskello
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I got better write performance in NAS4Free than in FreeNAS 8.2 (with dd benchmark test).

    Posted 07/10/2012
  • edr2009
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Like the easy install and great ZFS function. Please continue the work. Bugs are to be found in the high priced payed software so any glitch that may be present is as far as I see quickly fixed. Thumbs up for Nas4Free!!!

    Posted 07/09/2012
  • rfksolutions
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Natural Evolution of FreeNAS 0.7. Recommended

    Posted 07/07/2012
  • orazio77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ottimo prodotto sula base di Freenas ma piu veloce!! Con due schede di rete e LAGG "FEC" attivo leggo e scrivo a 45Mbit/s ,continuate cosi.

    Posted 07/01/2012
  • oid-3888835
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm not adept of FN8. I'm trying both on my my new NAS-box (Atom 525 on-board+4Gb+bootable USB). I found several bugs in N4F and then return to FreeNAS 8.0.4 - I can't directly edit rc.conf. Then I'm add row to rc.conf in GUI. But I can't delete that row later! "Minus" sign do nothing! I think that is just a GUI bug. - Root partition too small. With pkg_add I've got "out of space". I can't resize it on usb-flash. - It is easy to load drivers from FreeBSD 8 on FN8 and ifconfig up wlan0. Without direct edit rc.conf I can't even write 'wlans_run0="wlan0"' on N4F. In N4F GUI this line do nothing. Also In network settings there is no wlan. -- Andrew. Sorry for my english

    Posted 06/21/2012
  • henrieu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS4Free is so bad software that i run it now on my second nas4free server laying around. I verry happy with the software and say thanks to the developers agin for their good nice bad software they make. i did try freenas 8 but thats way to heavy with a bad gui. I like to say to all users, grab NAS4Free It is even better than freenas 0.7 series.

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • kfowler1981
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NAS4Free has been great for me! It does everything I need it to do and more. I also find it easily customizable when adding new "features" as working with the code and easily understandable and clear. I was a huge fan of FreeNAS 0.7 legacy and used it up until it was continuted by NAS4Free. I love the webgui and how clean it is as well as easy to navigate. I hight suggest NAS4Free, as it is a must for me. Give NAS4Free a shot and I bet you will never look back!

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • maveri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I find Nas4Free even more stable than FreeNAS - which I have used for years but am switching over to Nas4Free because the development under Nas4Free is so much better than it was under FreeNAS and peoples questions are answered quickly and politely My system is only small (Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, E6600 cpu, 8 gb ram) so FreeNAS's requirements are simply too high for what I want. I run Nas4Free in a VM so on my system tying up between 6 - 8 gb in a single VM client is simply too much Nas4Free is great - it gives me all the functionality of FreeeNAS 7 and it's more up to date and will continue to be supported going forward. Nas4Free is perfect for those FreeNAS have left behind William Grzybowski - you say you don't like it and that you switch to FreeNas - interesting since you contribute to FreeNAS as a developer - talk about a conflict of interest John Hixson who is also a contributor to FreeNAS (another conflict of interest perhaps?) gives reasons at least for not liking Nas4Free at least

    Posted 06/16/2012
Show next 22 reviews