MSYS2 Icon

A Cygwin-derived software distro for Windows using Arch Linux's Pacman

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
33
2
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is all around an excellent way to use *nix command line software and tools on Windows. It feels like a simplified and less bloated version of Cygwin. It's faster than Cygwin, but lacks the same depth of emulation Cygwin offers. Processing a few hundred megabytes of text in the shell is many times faster than Cygwin, but there is no X11 support at all. The only flaw is the redundant and irritating package naming convention that was used. All packages are prefixed with their internal subsystem name (which is the same as the repository name...) and also their externa subsystem name. For example: mingw32/mingw-w64-i686-libgusb, instead of i686/mingw32/libgusb. This makes finding and installing packages extremely tedious compared the ArchLinux's native pacman.

    Posted 12/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use MSYS2 to build certain programs in Windows binaries. This is the best tool I use.

    Posted 06/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Tool.Thanks a lot :)

    Posted 05/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project! It provides us a excellent way to distribute x64 Qt Apps without visual C++ toolchains. However, there 're some tiny problem in Active-Qt 5.5.1, that g++ reported few groups of link time error 'undefined reference 'to __imp_* .

    Posted 12/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's like having a complete linux distro within Windows. great job!

    Posted 12/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seems to be the best Unix-like toolchain for Windows.

    Posted 11/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This seems to be the project trying to do what the stale/dead mingw/mingw-get project once was.

    Posted 11/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A modern replacement for MSYS bringing recent versions of the GNU toolchains (MinGW-w32 und MinGW-w64), Git and other common Unix command line tools to the Windows platform.

    Posted 11/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MSYS2 gives me a reason to live now. It is almost as good as eating. Any time I need to use it or one of its packages, it works without a hitch. I have been using MSYS2 MinGW builds with NetBeans IDE and have no problems with them or the GNU make. I recently used the premake4 package to build an OpenGL tutorial source code. Long live MSYS2!!! :)

    Posted 10/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks very promising

    Posted 10/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its like a "little Linux" inside windows

    Posted 09/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really appreciated!

    Posted 07/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    finally a decent gnu tools on win32

    Posted 07/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 05/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a beautiful project. Thank you very much for the continued efforts.

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! Thank you very much for you guys efforts.

    Posted 04/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exactly the type of software I was looking for. Many thanks to the developers.

    Posted 04/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project, really nice porting.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent environment for Mozilla Rust hacking on Windows ! Great job !

    Posted 02/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool

    Posted 12/29/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really nice project. Hope I can migrate all my workflows from MinGW32 here.

    Posted 12/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very good, I love pacman from Arch :)

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, the original MSYS was far from the *nix experience, but MSYS2 is very promising: development is active, a decent terminal emulator and, the best of all, pacman! (yeah, I'm an Archlinux user).

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A long needed refresh of the old and buggy MSYS. The inclusion of a tried and tested package manager finally provides what Windows MinGW-w64 users have been missing for ages. I hope this project can live long and provide people with a good shell and packaging environment for Windows MinGW-w64.

    Posted 07/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When you will discover Msys2, you will forget Cygwin

    Posted 07/09/2014
Show next 10 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks