Monolingual Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
25
1
1
1
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using Monolingual for a long time and love its function. Am currently using version 1.7.2 on Mac OS X 10.11.2. However, since installing the 10.11.2 update to OS X Monolingual is no longer erasing the non-english lproj files in any of the Apps written by Apple. I haven't checked every app but App Store, Time Machine, Automator, Calculator, Calenday, Chess, Contacts and the others that I have checked all still have all of the non-english lproj files within the apps resources folder. It did clean the foreign languages out of non-Apple apps. Have run Monolingual several times and rebooted the machines but still those files exist. I hope that Apple has not taken security to the point to where Monolingual can no longer be used effectively.

    Posted 12/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, simple, unobtrusive, does what it has to do very well, I recommended it to a lot of people. Now beta testing on el Capitan, in one installation it is working normally, the other I have to check.

    Posted 07/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GateKeeper prevents v1.5.10 from luanching, saying it's "damaged". Seems to be an issue with the codesign, which tests valid for me, but won't get by GateKeeper. Updates using the Sparkle framework work fine.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I have an iMac OSX Intel 10.9.2 and my Monolingual version (1.5.10) doesn't work. I choose the languages I want to eliminate, press "delete" and nothing happens. ¿May somebody help me? Thanks, regards and good life,

    Posted 04/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work team Monolingual!

    Posted 12/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very User friendly. Easy to use.

    Posted 12/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used Macaroni in the past to remove localizations; however, it doesn't support OS's past 10.6. The one thing great about Macaroni is IT WOULD NOT ALLOW YOU TO REMOVE ENGLISH. The developer stated in FAQs that the English localization had to be there for the OS to function. Seem that this application allows a user to "shoot themselves" by offering an option to remove English. Would suggest the developer remove the English option.

    Posted 10/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1.5.3 keeps crashing on Mac OSX 10.7.5

    Posted 09/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1.5.3 crash with an error

    Posted 09/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Program and Easy to Use! THANK YOU! I'm using Monolingual 1.4.5 on Snow Leopard and have no problems.

    Posted 08/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Using OSX10.8, the latest version of Monolingual 1.5.2 appears to delete the selected files, but on refresh most (but not all) still appear in the list, e.g. deleting all but the AppleKeyboardLayouts results in the Korean input method still showing, but the others have correctly been deleted from the list. For languages my system told me that over 3gb had been deleted, but the languages still appear in the list, even after a Restart. However, removing them for a second time frees up 0K of space. It would also be helpful to have a Select All/Unselect All button so that you can quickly set your preferences. A very useful little app, apart from the above.

    Posted 08/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great until this version that is to be compatible with Mountain Lion. I have 3 Macs us8ing ML, both with fresh clean installs. Version 1.5.0 crashed on both Macs. Very surprised, as this app has been superb until this version. I can send Crash logs if desired, along with Sys Info, Installed apps etc.

    Posted 08/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is it possible that Monolingual does not play nicely with Intego's "VirusBarrier X6 Threat Filters MM/DD/YY"? My experience is that after removing selected languages, the file must be again downloaded.

    Posted 08/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great app which deletes redundant Mac OS X language files faster than rest I've tried.

    Posted 04/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    probably I won't use Monolingual or Xslimmer because I just want to be on the safeside. :)

    Posted 03/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic utility! No problems running in OS X Lion so far.

    Posted 10/04/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very effective.

    Posted 04/11/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very very good; thank you!

    Posted 03/03/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/15/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Monolingual is a great tool for excising unused language files support in order to make deployments via file based management tools (like radmind) much lighter. Plus, it's just easy to use software.

    Posted 09/02/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's easy to remove unused languages. READ THE README FILE BEFORE DELETING ANYTHING.

    Posted 06/03/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We need something like this for Linux and Windows! Lately, I've begun to think of Locale as a synonym of Cruft, which is a shame. I've nothing against folks around the world being able to use apps in their native languages; but isn't it interesting how many developers go to the trouble of translating their apps into 30+ languages (including some rather obscure ones) but can't seem to be bothered to make these translations optional even when the translation files end up doubling (and in some cases tripling) the distribution size of the application? This app will be especially helpful for anyone who needs a full featured virtual machine that can fit on a live DVD or pen drive.

    Posted 11/28/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While disk space is cheap these days, this just gets rid of data that is not needed by most and helps avoid potential corruption of unneeded files.

    Posted 09/13/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well done. Of course, it gives you the rope to hang yourself. But a responsible use of this tool is a huge plus on disc space. We use it mainly to trim space on languages that we do not need.

    Posted 08/30/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great way to quickly free up disk space in OS X.

    Posted 08/18/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks