MINIBIAN image for Raspberry Pi Icon

MINIBIAN is a MINImal RaspBIAN-based Linux image for Raspberry Pi

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
8
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exactly what I need

    Posted 05/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your hard work! Аfter burning SD, everything works fine, But if you insert the SD in other RPI eth0 network interface disappears, and added the following interface eth1 in file /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persisten-net.rules. Аfter I copied (with replacement) the contents from folders /lib/udev and /etc/udevrules.d/ from original raspbian. Interface is defined correctly on all RPI. Can you tell me - I did the right thing?

    Posted 05/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great image, but I needed wifi for use with the Model A which has no ethernet. This often a catch22 problem, so I added wifi support, and preconfigured it to connect to an open wifi network, you can find the ready to use image here on sourceforge - search for "minibianwifi"

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love the fact that it's fully based on the raspbian just stripped down to the minimum. This means we can get always the most up to date packages, updates, commands and improvements while enabling a fully customized incremental approach of just adding what you need in each image. Fast to download and deploy on new sd. I now start all my cards with this distro and install what I need in top.

    Posted 03/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Greate!!!

    Posted 01/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After trying different images, we found that this image is just what we need for our RPi-based servers. Thank you for your work!

    Posted 01/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Was looking for a Linux distrib that fits in a 1 GB sd card. Perfect for my needs :)

    Posted 12/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    At last! I've been loking for a "server" version of Raspian for nearly a year, since I had my first pi. I've been having great fun learning while forming pi's into various server roles (household NAS, dlna media server, camera with web streaming, C development, etc). For all these purposes I haven't needed graphics and use the machines "headless", accessing them via ssh over the network. I've therefore been trying to slim down the rasbian image to make it easier and faster to store, backup, copy, etc. As well as to fit onto cheap smaller sd cards. This project is *exactly* what I've been looking for, as it's a "from scratch" build, rather than a hacked about raspian with a lot of artifacts remaining from the unwanted graphics and gaming environments, which is all I could achieve previously. I now have a stored customised minibian image, with a couple of other essentials added (dstat, mdadm, etc) and can cut a fresh card in a couple of minutes! Thanks a lot for this great work, and I hope the foundation put your image on their official download site, as I'm certain many other folks will find it just as useful.

    Posted 11/21/2013

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks