Maxima -- GPL CAS based on DOE-MACSYMA Icon

Computer Algebra System written in Common Lisp

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
59
0
2
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent math software !!

    Posted 10/30/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Many excellent features, continually updated, wide-ranging library of applications, runs on many Lisp implementations and so can be combined with AI and other software, and can be used as a front end for numerical libraries. Many users worldwide, responsive news group.

    Posted 06/15/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A complete, full-fledged and (if the big amount of functionality it offers is taken in consideration) still easy-to-use Computer Algebra System.

    Posted 02/19/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maxima GUI

    Posted 01/05/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great computar algebra system!

    Posted 12/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Switched about 2 months ago from Maple to (Wx)Maxima and it works perfectly well ! Had to learn a lot of new things as some approaches are different (e.g. Maple dchange() now requires defining some gradients using gradef()) but on the whole no big problems. A little confusing are the 2 plot and draw libraries : how about dropping the plot library altogether ?

    Posted 10/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this professionally and find it to be a great open source alternative to MathCAD, and an excellent complementary tool to Octave (which is open source Matlab). Definetly worth trying.

    Posted 08/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic Software! Solves everything I want super-fast.

    Posted 05/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked with this product for several years. Ezsy to use and fun to play with ;)

    Posted 03/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply put, the best Open Source CAS you will find out there. As a long-time user of Mathematica in the past, I switched to Maxima once I realized Mathematica took the wrong way. And I never looked back after that. In many ways, Maxima impressed me, especially on symbolic computations. Personally, I prefer the Emacs front-end of Maxima, but for beginners, or for people that want to use Maxima in a more graphical environment resembling commercial CASes, try wxMaxima. SageMath, which can use Maxima internally might worth a look as well.

    Posted 11/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Aside from being extremely useful, this project is a beautiful piece of living history dating from its origins in Project MAC at MIT from 1968 and being the first general-purpose computational system for algebra and calculus, both symbolically and numerically. It is also a shining example of the benefits that can come from what is unfortunately all-too-often called "military" funding. DARPA can be a two-edged sword, but the benefits to the global community that arise from its research funding are undeniable.

    Posted 11/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wm maxima is the best. I think we can do every think with this like: xn--mgbadfb4bp3lqaoh.xn--mgba3ae5h.net

    Posted 11/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Useful project. It's sad that Google Summer never accepted that one.

    Posted 06/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It helped me a lot with my math...

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Together with wxMaxima, Maxima is a very good (Free) replacement for Mathemacica etc. Hope this project will continue to evolve in the future.

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    copy/paste doesnt work right. you can copy and paste within the program but not to or from a word file for example. good job though

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Probably the best free CAS. Is a maxima-sbcl-5.39.x-win64.exe coming soon? Apparently it isn't. Seems all we get for Windows now is various dumb installers created by people who don't know how Windows works and think it's fine to make you install the program somewhere other than in "Program Files" :-(

    Posted 11/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is one of the most efficient open source CAS around and is just too easy to learn. Supports functional + imperative programming and has most of functionality built in. Extending it using Maxima's own programming language, makes it just too flexible. There is one h t t p : / /area51.stackexchange.com/proposals/66233/maxima ,community under proposal. One can join here and learn from creators of Maxima.

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    More stable than Maple!

    Posted 02/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tried maxima and loved it while looking for a Matlab replacement.

    Posted 02/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I needed to know how to transform my uniform random-number distribution y to a distribution that is P(x) ~ (sech(x))^2. Well, I know now (use x = arctanh(y)). A very useful and, together with imaxima in emacs and gnuplot, a very fancy-looking program. Installation is a breeze - it is included in my Gentoo Linux distribution. Thank you!

    Posted 11/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice, thank you

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, Thank you