Maxima -- GPL CAS based on DOE-MACSYMA Icon

Computer Algebra System written in Common Lisp

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
54
1
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic Software! Solves everything I want super-fast.

    Posted 05/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked with this product for several years. Ezsy to use and fun to play with ;)

    Posted 03/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply put, the best Open Source CAS you will find out there. As a long-time user of Mathematica in the past, I switched to Maxima once I realized Mathematica took the wrong way. And I never looked back after that. In many ways, Maxima impressed me, especially on symbolic computations. Personally, I prefer the Emacs front-end of Maxima, but for beginners, or for people that want to use Maxima in a more graphical environment resembling commercial CASes, try wxMaxima. SageMath, which can use Maxima internally might worth a look as well.

    Posted 11/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Aside from being extremely useful, this project is a beautiful piece of living history dating from its origins in Project MAC at MIT from 1968 and being the first general-purpose computational system for algebra and calculus, both symbolically and numerically. It is also a shining example of the benefits that can come from what is unfortunately all-too-often called "military" funding. DARPA can be a two-edged sword, but the benefits to the global community that arise from its research funding are undeniable.

    Posted 11/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wm maxima is the best. I think we can do every think with this like: xn--mgbadfb4bp3lqaoh.xn--mgba3ae5h.net

    Posted 11/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Useful project. It's sad that Google Summer never accepted that one.

    Posted 06/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It helped me a lot with my math...

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Together with wxMaxima, Maxima is a very good (Free) replacement for Mathemacica etc. Hope this project will continue to evolve in the future.

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    copy/paste doesnt work right. you can copy and paste within the program but not to or from a word file for example. good job though

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is a maxima-openmcl-5.37.2.exe coming soon?

    Posted 11/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is one of the most efficient open source CAS around and is just too easy to learn. Supports functional + imperative programming and has most of functionality built in. Extending it using Maxima's own programming language, makes it just too flexible. There is one h t t p : / /area51.stackexchange.com/proposals/66233/maxima ,community under proposal. One can join here and learn from creators of Maxima.

    Posted 03/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    More stable than Maple!

    Posted 02/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tried maxima and loved it while looking for a Matlab replacement.

    Posted 02/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I needed to know how to transform my uniform random-number distribution y to a distribution that is P(x) ~ (sech(x))^2. Well, I know now (use x = arctanh(y)). A very useful and, together with imaxima in emacs and gnuplot, a very fancy-looking program. Installation is a breeze - it is included in my Gentoo Linux distribution. Thank you!

    Posted 11/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice, thank you

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful CAS for mathematic reports and work!

    Posted 03/01/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very interesting project I liked thanks!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good free application. Thanks!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great!

    Posted 01/21/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks