MakeAVI Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
7
2
0
2
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nothing is faster or more solid for turning an image sequence into a video. Great for time lapse/animation. Yes it has its quirks but you'll get used to them. Like one user said, no codecs are included and the built in windows codecs are crappy but you can just install ffmpeg or choose "full frames/uncompressed" as an option then open the file in your favorite video converter. Also, I've noticed it is very picky about filenames being numbered sequentially with no numbers skipped. I use "Advanced Renamer" to handle that minor problem. Great job, thank you!.

    Posted 12/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy and simple. Does what it says. Nothing more nothing less.

    Posted 04/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was looking for an alternative to GoPro Studio for stitching together photos because their format, CFHD, is not well supported by players other than QuickTime. MakeAVI can crop but not scale. Fine if you just want the middle of the shot but not good for reducing the file size. There are no codecs with this software so I ended up trying some Microsoft / Intel ones with pretty crappy results. You can remove a single file from the set but not groups. I'm going to delete this and keep looking.

    Posted 03/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The idea is interesting, but the quality of the implementation of terrible! No installer, just two files, exe, and a library. After creating the avi file it can see what that band and everything like that properly.

    Posted 08/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just as advertized, no other programs seem to come close (including mSoft movie maker), very pleased (thank you!)! I worked with 640x480 resolution photos. It could handle up to 2184 files with no problems. If more than that number of files were added at the same time, file 2185 name would be truncated and no file names after that were added. However! More than 2184 files worked if they were "Add"ed in groups groups of 2,000. If you do a search on youtube for "216TimeLapseMovie (full resolution)", a modular house construction video shows the results I got from using this program. Highly recommended (and many thanks to the author).

    Posted 06/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works OK but is limited to 1091 files at a time, 1092+ files crashes the program. Tried to use this for creating movies from single jpgs saved from a meteor observation camera recording overnight. Unfortunately 1 night's captures averages 4500 images which this software can't handle in 1 go.

    Posted 12/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MakeAVI works fast and easy. When working with a larger number of files though (I used ~3500 jpg pictures with 1080x720pixel) it seems to be having problems. Most codecs just produced a file which wasn't recognized as a video at all and was therefor unviewable, one showed in every frame the intersection of four pictures (likely just 4 parts of the same picture) while the intersection always was at a different spot in the frame, which was unusable too. This might be a problem of the codecs tough. I divided my pictures into subsets before applying MakeAVI, and later joined them in a video editing program, as a workaround. This did the job.

    Posted 08/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works and fast.

    Posted 09/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    filler text cause I just want to rate it but sourceforge has a horribly designed ratings system

    Posted 12/11/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this all the time for stop motion animations along with time lapses. I highly recommend this program. Cant find anything like it!

    Posted 12/07/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 07/14/2010

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks