Steganos LockNote Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
17
0
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful concept, but like a few other reviewers all versions of LockNote that I've tried, including 1.0.5, fail to save your text at least half the time when you close the app. In fact, if you manually Save As and write to a new file, LockNote will ask for a password and create an empty copy of itself. When you close, it will ask if you want to save your changes, even if no changes were made, and again ask for a password. Even after entering your password a total of 4 times, you will usually wind up with an empty LockNote. If it opens without asking for a password, you know it didn't save. I've tried LockNote in everything from Windows 2000 to Windows 7 and it has this same problem in each OS. I love the idea of LockNote and carried it everywhere I went for many years, but I recently realized that it is simply too unreliable to trust with important information. I can't imagine why anyone would need encryption for data that *wasn't* important, so unless these issues are resolved, I don't recommend using LockNote. There are numerous apps that will encrypt a text file and yet are portable, so look elsehwere.

    Posted 07/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used Steganos Locknote for 5 years+ and carry it around on little USB. Surprising so few downloads. Thanks @sourceforge, another winner.

    Posted 10/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I been using Steganos LockNote on a daily basis for a couple years and it never failed to save. However, I seldom I forget to save some minor changes. Hence, it would be great if it had some auto-save&close feature. This would save may changes and prevent access when I forget to close it. Still, I love it because is simple and pratical enough. Thanks Steganos!

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Locknote has a clean simple design. I would be very useful if not for a fatal bug where it occasionally fails to save changes. There is no error message or any other indication that it has failed. I have had it working perfectly for a long period of time and, for no reason, suddenly stops updating changes. If I use "save as" to create a new file, it will continue to work but will eventually fail again for no apparent reason.

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have never had locknote not save data. Doesn't mean it can't happen but I use it often and have not experienced it.

    Posted 09/08/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be careful - LockNote silently fails to save data. You can tell by watching the Modified timestamp ... when it fails it doesn't change. I lost critical banking login details. I am using KeePass now, which isn't great for handling text but at least it is reliable.

    Posted 02/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 02/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    terrific program

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to run locknote

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this program. Thanks!

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 09/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If password is lost means how to remove it !!! Help Me

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, small, no install, quick. What I am missing: - Save button when doing bigger changes (only save as is existing) - When copying a password from the Text insider LockNote with a mouse doubleclick on the word one space at the end of the word is included, this is annoying as after pasting the last character has to be deleted. Behaviour: Doubleklick->copy, Klick on destination -> Paste, Backspace to delete the space What I would expect is Doubleklick->copy, Klick on destination -> Paste

    Posted 08/27/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One file, no installation, open source. I've used it for years.

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great solution to protect your private notes. Thanks!

    Posted 08/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I never use this software before. Thanks for sharing.

    Posted 03/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quality, plain and [very] simple, just like all the good ideas. Cheers.

    Posted 10/11/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job, works great, make it for mobile (java)

    Posted 09/15/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple (one file), convenient (data and exe together), portable (no installation), open source. It is an almost perfect text/password encrypter to have in your flash drive. The low level of activity has had some people ask if this was a dead project. It is not, as shown by the recent version 1.0.5. But then, when a program is good, and does what it is meant to, do not expect monthly updates...

    Posted 08/13/2010

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks