Locate32 Icon

Locate32 finds files and directories based on file names.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
18
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    License FREEWARE!!!

    Posted 11/19/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Mandatory Install. I have been using Locate32 since 2004. I was working at a small dev studio at the time writing back-end PHP code, so I needed something to be able to search all those files and the win search could not cut it. Later I transformed to working for a company that was refurbing the computers that rental centers handed out. It was then I started using portable drives and once again Locate32 was the boss. I had no trouble setting up to index multiple 100GB+ drives. I could find ANY file ANY where at ANY time within milliseconds. This program gets used EVERY DAY and so many times I can't count. There are not many programs that I label 'Mandatory Install' but this is one of them. There may not much to the design but I would rather have a program that works than something pretty and does nothing.

    Posted 08/24/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple & Superb & Fast Utility(I think it uses MFT to catalogue databases), How can we define different configuration(i.e. passing arguments like different databases), like One shortcut to find MP3s, another-one for Movies... At last, Please update link for new versions in "About" dialog box. it is dead link. At last this is very useful and fast utility, I use it every day, I have catalogued about my 15TB data and find any file in just few milliseconds or in a second

    Posted 12/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a shame you stopped improving it. Greatest search option for windows anyway. Thank you.

    Posted 11/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice small tool in Windows. Fast file searching, easy to use.

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A simple, fast and easy to use must have utility for all windows users.

    Posted 12/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    using it for more then 10 years. perfectly similar to 'good old' windows xp search bar, but faster. I really wish it will be an active-project again.

    Posted 10/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    probly the quoickest search around :)

    Posted 07/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the tools I could not go without on a Windows. BUT: adding locate32 commands to the context menu doesn't work on my machine. Somebody have an idea why? I tried running as Administrator, no success. The options in the preferences / advanced are and remain checked. I have a Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, locate version is 3.1 Build 11.7100. Daniel

    Posted 06/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely fantastic filesystem database-parsing program.

    Posted 02/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice work ! Great project.

    Posted 05/10/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent piece of software. seems much faster than the default windows search for xp. also the support for wildcards and advanced searching options is really useful.

    Posted 03/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use locate32 sometimes if I have a simple search to do. In that respect it is fast. But, as far as I know, it is not possible to search within the results of a search. That would make it very very useful. Werdelly

    Posted 11/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    merci beaucoup

    Posted 09/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use both: Windows XP and Windows 7. I just wanted to say that it works great, I really like this program. Thank you for the taking the time to create this.

    Posted 09/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice tool that I've used for the last couple of Windows releases. It just works - and quickly! The ability to search for text through the found files is a nice extra.

    Posted 09/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Locate32 is an indispensable tool for every version of Windows.

    Posted 09/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By far the best local file searching tool. Allows regex searching, which by itself is worth the download. Locate32 does everything you need & more. Highly recommend.

    Posted 08/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best of type that there is!

    Posted 08/15/2012

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks