libusb Icon

A cross-platform library that gives apps easy access to USB devices

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
9
3
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was able to use this to write Visual C++ 2008 code on Windows 7 that talks to a FadeCandy to control my Christmas tree lights. It was easy to download and write working code, thanks! Suggestions include: 1) libusb.h has three structs with arrays with 0 elements. This causes compiler warnings as VC++ 2008 doesn't define __STDC_VERSION__. Is there a reason these cannot be defined as having one element? 2) since most functions return a return code into an int, it requires a cast to call libusb_strerror() without a warning or error. Is it not possible to simply have this function accept an int arg? 3) the documention is copious but I would have benefitted from an overview of USB, such as what "configurations" and "endpoints" are. 4) initial projects also seem to go much faster with good hello-world examples. listdevs.c was great for finding the device I needed, but it took a while to figure out that libusb_claim_interface() wasn't needed. I found some step-by-step instructions on how to call _open and _free_device_list, for instance, that didn't go on to state that I then had to claim an interface before using it.

    Posted 11/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    5

    Posted 08/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    HI, Can I use this Libusb for CDC communication for WEC2013? Is it possible ..if yes let me know how to do the same. Regards, Satyajit

    Posted 01/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, Good library to work around usb devices. But, lsusb command shows devices that are detected early but currently disconnected. I connected a usb printer. lsusb showed the device correctly. But the same messages are shown even after disconnecting the device. Any work around or solution for this

    Posted 09/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good for playing around usb

    Posted 07/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for this very useful app!

    Posted 05/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull driver.

    Posted 05/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I needed to write a USB driver compatible with Linux 2.6.11 and up. libusb provided everything I needed to commuicate with my USB device from a user application.

    Posted 10/05/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found no configure script in the top level directory to compile the library!!!

    Posted 09/12/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice project. Works fine with PyUSB.

    Posted 08/01/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works very well, the documentation is easy to understand. Excellent work!!! => I'm using Ubuntu 9.10 32bits

    Posted 04/25/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project. Works well with LibUsbDotNet.

    Posted 12/29/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks