KeePass Icon

A lightweight and easy-to-use password manager

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
445
12
0
2
11
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My review will be unpopular but it's based on real, long term and intensive usage of this software. I've been using LastPass extension for Firefox for years, with great satisfaction, and recently I wanted to try KeePass, convinced by the large user base and so many good reviews. So I installed Keepass on my dropbox and also installed Keefox estension to my Firefox portable. After trying it for about 4 months I am now able to say my opinion. KeePass fails to suggest the login credentials 8 times on 10. The most times I have to manually search for the current website in the database and pick up username and password manually. And each one separately, because even selecting the same website from the db (same URL of current website) Keepass does not fill in anything. Inserting / creating a new website also fails many times; Keepass does not recognize the new registration / login and I have to insert manually. There are other minor issues I faced, too. I switched back to LastPass, that is working like a charm on all website and all situations. Cant' really guess the reason of so many positive opinions abut KP.

    Posted 10/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Probably the best solution for keeping and managing credentials offline encrypted

    Posted 09/14/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The one and only (free) password manager. I use it on my PC and Android devices.

    Posted 09/01/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic cross platform password manager, I really could not live without it any more, no need to remember passwords. I have it on Android, Ubuntu and Windows with the database file stored on a cloud drive so I don't even need to carry copies of it around. Brilliant.

    Posted 08/18/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using it for years.

    Posted 08/04/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent application with many add-ons to do all you need with your passwords

    Posted 07/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really the best. Once you set it up with Google Drive it is a safe and secure solution that will work on all your devices. Source Forge made me change my password to write this review, and it didn't annoy me nearly as much as it would have without KeePass!

    Posted 07/23/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent, far superior to insecure alternatives like 1Password because KeePass is free, open source and has been independently verified by experts. It has a number of advanced options yet is easy to use, regularly updated and offers the most features. You also get to choose where you store your data - on your computer or in the cloud.

    Posted 07/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    EXCELLENT

    Posted 06/30/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    用了好多年,一直没换过,非常好用!

    Posted 06/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've KeePass user for many years, and I haven't found anything that suits be better than this one, or that inspires more confidence.

    Posted 06/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well, MOS8651 if you absolutely must complicate this superbly simple open source program then may I recommend you download a selection from the large store of available plugins, several of which knock down your wish list.

    Posted 06/10/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent tool!

    Posted 06/09/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it works fine

    Posted 06/05/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super programm. Nice job, guys!

    Posted 05/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Keepass has SO much potential to be a really great password manager and more, but unfortunately, it lacks a lot of key functions that are present on other managers. For instance, integrated two factor authentication, no integrated browser/mobile connection, and lacks a proper ability to store form and identity data (credit card info, for instance). The real advantages that Keepass has going for it is: open-source, good password generator, and good encryption. I really think that the developers should start charging for the service so we can get some of these key features going. I would gladly pay, as I think many would. What we need is a full open-source password manager that has the abilities of managers like 1password or LastPass.

    Posted 05/10/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Small and usefull;

    Posted 05/01/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program makes my life a LOT easier. All I have to do is remember one password to remember them all. Every single one of my passwords is in a database I created with KeePass. I love how dependable it is and how easy it is to set up a database. Additionally, if for whatever reason you don't prefer AES encryption, you can install a plugin for a different algorithm (such as Serpent or Twofish, though I personally prefer Serpent).

    Posted 04/21/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best

    Posted 04/12/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like the idea - but it's for the more advanced user. It has it's pros and cons.

    Posted 04/12/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent way to save passwords

    Posted 04/04/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1.x branch is most useful, the DotNet one... not for me thanks

    Posted 03/22/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent

    Posted 03/08/2017
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks