KeePass Icon

A lightweight and easy-to-use password manager

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
431
9
1
1
19
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent password manager with advanced capabilities: FTP, HTTP and WebDAV protocol support and more with plugins; Synchronization of multiple open copes with centralized source; Password expiration, generation, change history and recycle bin; Automatic removal of password/username from clipboard; Support for binary file attachments; Drag and drop into browser fields; Programmable Auto-Type feature for automatic password entry by keystroke simulation; Two-Channel Auto-Type Obfuscation to help thwart standard key-loggers; Import from a variety of supported password managers; AES/Rijndael 256bit support and password + key and entropy generation; Database compression; Plugin system with a prolific ecosystem. Thanks for maintaining such a great project!

    Posted 07/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    cool

    Posted 07/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works!

    Posted 07/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used this password manager on my iOS devices and Windows devices. When I save the dbase file on a cloud-based drive (OneDrive, Dropbox, iCloud), it's a fantastic set up. I happily donated to the company.

    Posted 07/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been a faithful user of Keepass for several years and have appreciated the ability to synch between my Home PC, Work PC, Laptop, iPad and iPhone (thru MiniKeePass), but last year they broke the ability to synch directly with Google Drive, then even saving the files thru the GoogleDrive Web interface quit working and now Dropbox synch doesn't work thru either the IOS app or the web interface. Developer blames it on Apple, Apple blames it on developer - bottom line is that I as a user now have to find a product that actually works across platforms. I wish Keepass would come out with a direct port for IOS...

    Posted 06/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is one of my must-have apps. I use it on my Windows PCs, laptops, and Android tablet. It allows me to have unique passwords for every web site. I save all the security questions in the database for each account. I believe it enhances security for my accounts. I carry a small encrypted flashdrive that holds the portable version of KeePass and a copy of my kbdx database with my passwords. It is easy and quick to make subsets of the main database for special purposes.

    Posted 06/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using this password manager for many years and after reading the slashdot story thought it was about time I wrote a review and rated this product. 5/5 KeePass is part of my internet life. This "vulnerability" does not affect the way I have ever used this product. I'm certain a remedy will be found for the problem for those that do rely on update prompts.

    Posted 06/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an outstanding software and it's utterly useful for me. Thank you.

    Posted 05/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm a Linux user, After years as a premium LastPass member, I switched to KeePass, I wished if I did this earlier!

    Posted 05/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Password Manager I have seen.

    Posted 05/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the very best offline password manager

    Posted 05/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does it better than the rest. Recently had a cloud storage hold saved files hostage when the subscription expired without warning. I'm not trusting the cloud with this type of data ever again. KeePass is strong and simple. Couldn't ask for more in a password vault. Strongly recommended!

    Posted 04/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In my opinion, the best, and free.

    Posted 04/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    KeePass is a Must-Have!

    Posted 04/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, lightweight, and reliable. This is hands down the best password management program out there. Please take the time to donate to this project, they have produced a flawless app for YEARS and constantly update their product to keep it secure and fresh. Give credit where credit is due!

    Posted 04/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Have been using keepass on W7, Linux Mint, my iPhone for a few years now. Absolutely love it.

    Posted 04/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and stable!

    Posted 03/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I would be lost without this on all my devices.

    Posted 03/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finding better and better things inside KeePass each time I use it. By using DropBox or similar excellent for having password file available across multiple PC's, notebooks, Tablets and phone.

    Posted 03/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    KeePass is superior. I originally was drawn to it because its open source, and since version 2.xx is written in C# (my language of choice), I decided to reviewed the code before using it to gauge if it was worthy. It uses secure strings, protected memory, and always serializes the keys xor'ed by a random byte array that can be deterministically generated given the protected stream key in the KBDX file header. Also it uses custom controls so it can ensure the sensitive memory buffer gets cleared before it becomes de-allocated and eligible for garbage collection. So rare that I see code that actually does something right without moronically undermining all its efforts somewhere along the way. Since discovering KeePass, I have contributed to the project.

    Posted 02/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this on Windows, Mac and Android for several years and have been totally satisfied with it. I use Dropbox to share the database between the separate devices. As a heavy computer user and software developer, there was no good way of remembering all those passwords until I found KeePass!

    Posted 01/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    (コンピュータ利用の影響から生じる社会的及び法的な課題に対応するために設立されたアメリカに本拠地を置く非営利団体)Electronic Frontier Foundation も「Kee-Pass」を推奨しています。 人気のある「Last-Pass」には日本語版があり、多機能で、使い方も平易ですが、クラウドの「保管庫」が、立て続けに Hacking の被害を受ける不祥事も発生するなど信頼性に影を落としています。 クラウドは、クラウドストレージサービスの「Dropbox」でもハッキングトラブルが絶えず、「クラウド」のセキュア度は不完全なことが判明しました。 しかも前述の「EFF」の 06/10/2015 会報によると 『米議会と FBI の特定のメンバーが、特別なアクセス権を企業に強制し、暗号化通信の Lock を解除するための「GOLDEN-KEES」を与えるための提案を推進しています』と根本的な危機を警告しています。 重要データのクラウド利用は危険です。 【 Last-Pass と Kee-Pass の考察】 どちらも「AES」と「Twofish」準拠の最高度のセキュリティー機能を有するパスワードマネージャーの決定版の双璧として世界的に評価されています。 「LastPass」は、セキュアに管理されたクラウドにデータが格納されるため、IT 接続が必須です。 「kee-pass」は、PC 内(や外付けの各種記録媒体)にデータが格納されます。 「LastPass」は、default で多言語化表記(ブラウザ使用言語に対応し、自動変換)が成されているうえ、便利機能が充実しています。ビギナーでも使い始めることができるほど分かり易く仕上がっており、万人向けです。 「kee-pass」は、作成したパスワードなどを(PC 内など)手元で管理する安心さとパスワード作成における(任意)設定可能な項目が Last-Pass より充実している事、豊富な “Plugins” などが優位点として、ユーザーや批評家から圧倒的な支持を受けています。しかし「英語/ドイツ語」表記のアイテムであり、多言語化処理が面倒な事と、機能や表現(意味)が解りづらいため、ビギナーには厄介気味ですが。 世評においても経験上からも「Kee-Pass」が、唯一無二の存在です。

    Posted 01/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had this tool for some time now and I am quite happy with it. Why it was marked on win 10 as malware?

    Posted 01/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great tool and I can sync the info to my Android phone (with separate Android Apps).

    Posted 01/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    easy to use, combined several handy features in one package. took up 20.3MB memory in the background (Win 8.1).

    Posted 12/27/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks